Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2014, 01:20 PM
JlMMY JlMMY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 9
Default Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

Hi,

I have been running a Pro Tools rig for about 10 years. I am currently running Pro Tools version 11.1.2 64bit. I have updated the system and software regularly and use system backups to keep the best working version. Having said that, I cannot get the command 8 working (recognized in PT), after upgrading from Windows Pro 8.0 to 8.1. Each time I have tried the upgrade to MS Win 8.1 I ended up rolling back the update. Loss of the Command 8 is the single reason I cannot upgrade my OS to Windows Pro 8.1. Any ideas would be appreciated.

My hardware interfaces:
Digi 002 and Eleven Rack ( I know, time to move on)

PC (Expertly built by me)
i7 -2600k Intel quad core, 16gb ram, SSD boot, secondary drive. Gigibyte z68 UD3 iSSD Motherboard etc..

Thanks in advance for time.

Jimmy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2014, 10:39 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,864
Default Re: Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

No I'm not a Windows guy, but I don't think W8.1 is supported at all, and you have found why.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2014, 11:23 PM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

ahem...

"Pro Tools 11.1.2 and Pro Tools HD 11.1.2 on Windows 7 and
Windows 8.1"

http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor..._Win_80990.pdf

I don't have a Command 8 to try... sorry Jimmy.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2014, 11:41 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,864
Default Re: Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

Okay, once again I stand corrected. I'm not that interested in Windows world, but nice to know 11.1.2 supports that.

Then again, this document says that Command8 is not in the official support list (untested) so it might work or not.

EDIT:
I've asked Avid to refresh that knowledgebase article that I linked to this thread first.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2014, 07:57 AM
JlMMY JlMMY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

I have had the command 8 working with every version of PT, even this latest release. It's just when I upgrade to Windows 8.1 that the command 8 stops working. Officially, the command 8 is on the way out, I am with you on that. I am just hoping it's not today for .1 of an upgrade.

Thanks for requesting Avid update the source information. A nudge on the driver would be awesome :)..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2014, 09:00 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

I'm not familiar with the Command 8, but with Win8.1 I've had a couple of devices and applications that I've had to uninstall and then reinstall the drivers or apps for things to work properly. There was no indication that the update to 8.1 had any issues with any devices/apps or that they aren't configured/working correctly in the Device Manager. Maybe try uninstall/reinstall PT and any related drivers including MIDI or uninstall before the update and install after.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2014, 10:26 AM
JlMMY JlMMY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

Hi Chuck,

I should mention that, in my attempts to get things working, I have reinstalled Pro Tools and done the Windows 8.1 update multiple times. I have developed a consistency with the command 8 not working after several attempts. These attempts rack up many hours, even on the fastest host PC. I do appreciate the guidance. This reply is to eliminate any confusion on the reinstall attempts and to flush out the only other dude in the forum (I know you are out there) using a command 8 with up to date software :)>


Cheers,

Jimmy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-2014, 01:11 AM
diggaman diggaman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1
Default Re: Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

Solution: Run Pro Tools in compatibility mode for Windows 8. Pro Tools 11 will recognize the Command 8.

Good luck

Digga
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2016, 02:24 PM
JlMMY JlMMY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Command 8 not working in Windows Pro 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by diggaman View Post
Solution: Run Pro Tools in compatibility mode for Windows 8. Pro Tools 11 will recognize the Command 8.

Good luck

Digga
I could never get it running in 8.1 so I kept rolling back the OS to W8. I have recently upgraded to W10 and all is working well, running in compatibility mode. Thank you diggaman. I'm now able to run PT12 with W10 and the Command 8.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command-space bar not working zoff Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 18 07-24-2016 09:35 PM
PT 11 key command not working Meads Pro Tools 11 2 07-18-2013 12:35 PM
Command + M not working Sergius macOS 0 11-23-2011 03:09 PM
Command 8 with PT9 Win 7 64 Bit not working Louis Loria Windows 2 03-29-2011 07:03 AM
command 8 not working ak47 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 01-19-2005 10:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com