Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2013, 10:57 AM
maxlor314 maxlor314 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Default Mbox Pro Headphone Outs Left Channel Only

Hi, I have an Mbox Pro (third generation) that I use with a mac, and I'm generally happy with it. Today I tried to use the headphone outs for the first time, and I only get a signal coming out the left channel.

I tried both Headphone A and headphone B. I tried sending the signal from different sources. I also tried uninstalling the Mbox software, trashing preferences, and re-installing the latest version with the latest firmware. The meters in the Mbox software show a stereo signal, but it's still only coming out of the left channel.

Has anyone else encountered this? Does anyone know a fix?

THanks
Max
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2013, 04:06 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,482
Default Re: Mbox Pro Headphone Outs Left Channel Only

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxlor314 View Post
Hi, I have an Mbox Pro (third generation) that I use with a mac, and I'm generally happy with it. Today I tried to use the headphone outs for the first time, and I only get a signal coming out the left channel.

I tried both Headphone A and headphone B. I tried sending the signal from different sources. I also tried uninstalling the Mbox software, trashing preferences, and re-installing the latest version with the latest firmware. The meters in the Mbox software show a stereo signal, but it's still only coming out of the left channel.

Has anyone else encountered this? Does anyone know a fix?

THanks
Max
Hi,

Have you tried another set of headphones? tried the headphones on another device? given the headphone socket a clean?

If the output in pro tools shows stereo level then the headphones should also be stereo-both-channels etc. would most likely be dry connection somewhere and not software related.

Are you able to connect speakers to the outputs to check stereo is working ok?


chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2013, 04:53 AM
maxlor314 maxlor314 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mbox Pro Headphone Outs Left Channel Only

Hi Chris, thanks for the advice. It was the headphones after all. More specifically, it was the 1/4 in. adapter on my Audio Technica M50.

Luckily, my office has several pairs, so I tried the 1/4 inch adapter from a different pair and it worked! Look at the difference in the 2 connectors. This is from the same headphone model, but I bought them a couple years apart:

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange CoreAudio issue - right channel information getting into left channel -JK- Pro Tools 9 5 01-10-2011 08:42 AM
Left channel output louder in Mbox 1, please help. pcmusicpro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-14-2008 09:40 AM
Lost the Left Channel OUT of my Mbox Deirdre B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-30-2008 10:19 AM
Mbox Headphone Output - Only one Channel dvottero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-19-2006 06:40 PM
Why does the Mbox have two headphone outs if... joesmohello 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-08-2003 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com