Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2010, 03:49 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Angry Warning:go back to 8.01

Today while I was tracking I was hit with the White Noise blast that seems to be so rampant here. I experienced it one time and raising the buffer from 64 to 128 seemed to solve it. At least for a few weeks. I thought it was buffer related.
Problem with it happening today is that it blasted the drummers earphones
How did this slip past AVID? Why is it in 8.03? Pro Tools is a recording platform, and with 8.03 it is completely useless unless you want to deafen people.

I am usually politically correct and most of the time if I have a negative remark I do so with humor. Today, I am embarrassed to be using Pro Tools.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you

Last edited by Kris75; 01-14-2010 at 10:45 AM. Reason: No need to be hatin.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2010, 03:52 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

You doing this on WIn 7 64-bit? It IS a "public BETA" version. As in "Take your chances.."
I'm using 8.0.3 on my 002/XP 32-bit system without a hitch.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2010, 04:11 PM
Parisstudio Parisstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

Hmm, so was I and then swishhhhwooooswishhh. It will happen and when it does, its going to be bigger then ever. I rolled back to 8.0.1, I still get the sporadic white noise but not nearly as bad. I never had the noise in 8.0.1 until I upgraded to 8.0.3 and back. I hate this crap, I'm looking at cubase 5.0 looks awesome with plenty of toys. Lets see.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2010, 04:15 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

What interfaces we talking about here?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2010, 04:16 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

Windows XP SP3
Pro Tools 8.03
Digi 002R
i7 920
3 Gigs of ram.

A complete joke. FWIW, 8.01 never had this problem.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2010, 05:29 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

I will triple check my ram timings again (although they "should" be correct)
I will also post a Sandra report later tonight.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2010, 05:32 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

Kris, might be worth postin' your situation in the 8.0.3 W7 thread too...just to make AVIDIGI aware that this not just happenin' on W7 systems with 8.0.3. just a thought
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2010, 05:51 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

kris75, we'll check out your RAM timings and take it from there. Your rig needs to be up and running by 7pm tomorrow night.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2010, 05:54 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

Oh hello back from vacation.

filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2010, 05:59 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: Warning:go back to 8.01

Hi Shane>

I've been warning people for days not to use this in their studio rigs yet. I have seen this behavior and more. I have a full workig W7/64 bit system and would not consider using it with a client. It's just not ready. Nor is it advertised as ready for any W7 system other than for beta testing.

And yes, I pulled this off the XP rig after the first few hours. But that was for the distortion issue.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I back back all files from my internal hd to my OWC external firewire800 hd? moya83 macOS 1 11-12-2012 06:36 AM
2 monitors back to 1 - can't get video back from right screen simon hunt macOS 5 10-09-2012 05:37 PM
Digital feed back on play back after Bounce drew88 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-12-2005 01:18 PM
Back up system folder on back up drive? Mick F. Cantarella Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-24-2002 09:15 AM
Masterlist also used as back to back mixed by a Dj "list"? Eric Maijs Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 04-09-2000 06:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com