Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2008, 05:40 AM
sureno sureno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 342
Default How do i merge stereo to a single mono?

tried doing a search on the forum but that led no where, could some one briefly explain the procedure

thanks
__________________
3.2 dual quad 4gb mac pro 10.5.6, logic 8.02/ PT8 003 factory through RM2's
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2008, 06:15 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: How do i merge stereo to a single mono?

You could 'Bounce To Disk' and select 'Mono (summed)' as the output format.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2008, 07:54 AM
sureno sureno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 342
Default Re: How do i merge stereo to a single mono?

Quote:
You could 'Bounce To Disk' and select 'Mono (summed)' as the output format.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
cool
__________________
3.2 dual quad 4gb mac pro 10.5.6, logic 8.02/ PT8 003 factory through RM2's
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:00 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: How do i merge stereo to a single mono?

Or pan both left and right tracks to center, bus to a mono track and record the result. Puts the mono track back in the mix right away..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:13 AM
sureno sureno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 342
Default Re: How do i merge stereo to a single mono?

thanks guys, the reason i ask is so i don't run out of tracks, MPTK is on my list but not at the top of priorities
__________________
3.2 dual quad 4gb mac pro 10.5.6, logic 8.02/ PT8 003 factory through RM2's
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2008, 10:09 AM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: How do i merge stereo to a single mono?

You didn't specify what you're trying to record, but you might just want to split the stereo tracks into mono and deleting one side. In some cases, summing the stereo tracks can cause pretty bad phasing issues and you'd be better off just using one side or the other.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2008, 10:53 AM
sureno sureno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 342
Default Re: How do i merge stereo to a single mono?

Quote:
You didn't specify what you're trying to record, but you might just want to split the stereo tracks into mono and deleting one side. In some cases, summing the stereo tracks can cause pretty bad phasing issues and you'd be better off just using one side or the other.
yeah what iv just tried is taking the left side of a kick and using that, seems to do the trick
__________________
3.2 dual quad 4gb mac pro 10.5.6, logic 8.02/ PT8 003 factory through RM2's
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
making mono track into stereo or double mono in PT7LE VeganMuso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-02-2012 05:36 AM
A question about mono/stereo plug ins on mono tracks. rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 2 12-24-2011 07:33 PM
Stereo tracks to single mono output... what's happening? PTPerson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-22-2011 02:39 PM
Conver stereo track to SINGLE mono track markolone Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-30-2010 07:09 PM
Stereo Aux vs Mono Aux and Turning that Mono into stereo via a stereo Plugin JesseF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 02-14-2010 09:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com