Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:09 PM
januconn92 januconn92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default Real basic newbie question

Hello all,
I have searched this forum and maybe I'm not searching the right terms, but, here it is:

Say you have a 15 minute session with 4 songs that used 8 tracks, how do you take "1 song" out and make it it's own session, or can I delete the length of the session before and after, then save as? If so, HOW DO you delete 4 minutes of all 8 tracks to "shorten the session"? , the actual length and not just create silence?

In a nutshell, I'm looking for the easiest way to indepently mix 4 songs in a 15 minute session.


Any help is sincerely appreciated..

Thanks,

Jan in CT
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2007, 06:12 AM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: Real basic newbie question

I don't track this way anymore (one session for the entire tracking session, these days I like to do one session per song) but this is the way I used to do it:

Select "Save Session As" and name it according to the song you would like to mix.

Delete all unwanted regions and tracks and move the regions for the required song back to the session start (select the "all" group to make it easier to grab all the regions)

Repeat this process for all the songs.
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2007, 02:07 AM
MarkAllred MarkAllred is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Real basic newbie question

I know what you mean; like removing the bars between the locators in Reason.

Couldn't find a way to do it in Cubase when I was using that, and haven't needed to use it in ProTools yet.

Would be interesting to see if there's a way that doesn't involve dragging all your regions forwards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie of one day--basic question BigKSUfan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-01-2008 10:04 PM
Geez-Another newbie Basic Question: USB Overload? belouder MIDI 1 01-31-2007 06:58 PM
Very Basic Newbie Question: Count Track.... tenover General Discussion 2 07-27-2006 11:52 PM
Newbie with basic Dumb Midi Question BayouboyGI 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-10-2003 05:51 PM
basic panning question- real answers wanted saxbone General Discussion 1 04-10-2001 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com