Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2006, 10:02 PM
tenover tenover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default Very Basic Newbie Question: Count Track....

Been working with ProTools for a few weeks now. What I'm doing, just to learn some songs that I want to cover is this:
- Open up a Generic Track
- From an iPod, record the song to one of the tracks
- From there, I'll LISTEN to the original recording while RECORDING one instrument, say the bass first.
- Then I'll LISTEN to the song again, with my bass muted, and RECORD say, the rythym guitar, and so on and so on.....

My problem is, is that a lot of the songs I want to learn/record, start out with a quick drum and bass intro, and there's no way for me to know EXACTLY when to come in when listening to the original artist's track that I recorded first, therefore making all my intros completely whacked out until I can come in with the proper timing every time, on each instrument. Is there SOME way, after the original artist's track is recorded, to then go back and enter a "count" track (1...2...1..2..3..4) kind of thing or do I just have to keep guessing and trying to come in at the right moment?

Thanks for your help in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:46 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Very Basic Newbie Question: Count Track....

You need to "Identify Beat" on the original audio track, and then add a click track using the click plugin.

Identify Beat is covered starting on Page 370 of the Pro Tools Reference Guide.

Using a click is covered starting on page 165 of the Ref Guide, and details about the click plugin are on page 55 of the Digi-Rack Plug-Ins Guide.

Both Guides are available from the Help menu within the program, and from the start menu.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:52 PM
tenover tenover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Very Basic Newbie Question: Count Track....

Thank you VERY much. I have full access to my buddie's "studio", so I try to maximize recording time and limit "reading time"....Will do. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie Track count question. abt Tips & Tricks 12 08-20-2009 07:23 AM
Newbie of one day--basic question BigKSUfan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-01-2008 10:04 PM
Real basic newbie question januconn92 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 09-18-2007 02:07 AM
Geez-Another newbie Basic Question: USB Overload? belouder MIDI 1 01-31-2007 06:58 PM
Newbie with basic Dumb Midi Question BayouboyGI 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-10-2003 05:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com