Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #591  
Old 05-09-2010, 05:13 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Yes, and have you done the 50 billion other things too required by us end users just to get this ancient code "working?" Cuz if you haven't done all 50 billion of them, you're a BLOOMIN' IDIOT!

There may be a lot of other things to do in PT, but as far as white noise is concerned, CS2 is directly in response to just that. It is important to upgrade, and if any one is using CS2 and using a non fragmented external non USB hard drive to record to, and still getting it, then that's important to know.
Edit: Or of course, a internal HDD. And that they are 7200RPM's. (Yeah so the list is long)
  #592  
Old 05-09-2010, 06:49 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
There may be a lot of other things to do in PT, but as far as white noise is concerned, CS2 is directly in response to just that. It is important to upgrade, and if any one is using CS2 and using a non fragmented external non USB hard drive to record to, and still getting it, then that's important to know.
Edit: Or of course, a internal HDD. And that they are 7200RPM's. (Yeah so the list is long)
I don't think the list is long at all... not as far as professionals using professional software professionally.

Sure, Pro Tools might work ok all on a 5400 system drive or through a USB drive, especially if all you are doing is recording a few VOs or guitar licks. Same with plenty of other DAWs. But at the same time... I guarantee with any other DAW, you're going to want a similar configuration to what Pro Tools calls a "minimum requirement." This is why I don't argue with them. Of course the minimum requirements are steep. We're not playing World of Warcraft here, we're recording dozens of tracks with dozens of CPU sucking plugins, and loading external sounds into other plugins all at the same time... how can one piddly little laptop drive be expected to handle all of that?

Use correct versions, use correct hardware, and submit errors to Avid (instead of whining about them here) and Pro Tools will be your best friend rather than some people's worst nightmare.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
  #593  
Old 05-09-2010, 06:53 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
I don't think the list is long at all... not as far as professionals using professional software professionally.
Personally, I definitely agree with this. I came to Pro Tools with the expectation of needing to work with it, to get it to work for me. Maybe that's why I don't complain about it. I have these problems using my landscaping software as well. It's 800 dollars and finicky as hell. But professional software is designed for the professional, not for the plug and play crowd.
  #594  
Old 05-09-2010, 07:02 PM
jdutaillis jdutaillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 157
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

Totally agree here as well. We're meant to be audio ENGINEERS remember! By definition this should make us problem solvers. Finely tuning any system is needed in audio as far as im concerned.
__________________
REAPER | Prism Sound Orpheus | ProTools LE 8.0.3 | M Box 2 | Edirol PCR-M50 | Genelec 8020a Monitors + 7050B Subwoofer
i7 950, Gigabyte UD4P MoBo, 6GB Corsair RAM, Gigabyte NVidia Silent Cell 9800GT 1GB, Seagate 1TB HDD (2 x 500gb partitions), WD 500gb Caviar Black, Samsung SW2333+, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
  #595  
Old 05-10-2010, 10:12 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Attention Avid Audio: Where do I send the bill?

In case anyone has missed it (apparently some of you have), the CS2 update addresses this issue. You can get links to that update here:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=270688
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attention Avid - do you NOT want my money...?? Mixmaster Nate Pro Tools 10 3 12-15-2011 05:38 PM
Avid-- Pay attention to NETFLIX brickroadstudio Pro Tools 10 37 10-27-2011 10:39 PM
Attention Avid: Get rid of the 100 seconds Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 165 06-02-2010 08:02 AM
What if Bill Gates bought Avid and discontinued the Mac products? tonygoodall Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 19 09-11-2002 11:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com