Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2018, 02:57 PM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default HDX - Invest or not?

Dear users, I've been bugging myself with this questions for months and really want to make a choice now. In my company we're running some Pro Tools HD rooms that need an upgrade. We do films and commercials, mainly music and creative sound-design. I've had a hate love relation for years with PT. I love the cross setup compatibility with since my main righthand composers introduced Nuendo on a windows computer PT has looked more sorry and sorry over the past two years. Next to the main DAW computers we run separate Imac's with Vienna's Ensemble Pro to have a bit of a go with samples and synths we've invested in.

What I want is to run many instance of Kontakt (for Spitfire, LA, Sonokinetic and other samples) Spectrasonics plugs (I use Omni and Keyscape a lot!) and heavy synths like Nexus, Serum! etc...(this next to what the Imac can hold). When I also want to be able to have a bit of a low latency recording session possible when a singer or vo comes by for last-minute sessions.

Is HDX worth it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2018, 08:30 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,233
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

IF you have the budget and the company, then you can pass it on as a company expense and get back on taxes. Plus the price of the cards have dropped a lot. So yep.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2018, 12:30 AM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

Well the cards def. dropped in price as I saw indeed. The thing is though, is it really powerfull? Can you run many instruments? I remember the PT10 days with a HD2...okay system to mix with some nice plugs but in terms of generating sound it felt quite sorry (max two or three kontakts, some Omni's, Massive and if you'd tune it up properly maybe one or two Serum's would hold).

I could also invest in "another platform" and use some extra budget on some nice extra outboard. It may sound stupid but I still don't see many videos by composers and producers that create the soundtracks and hit songs I listen to on Pro Tools. They might get mixed in PT but the composing process...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2018, 01:10 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

There are zero instruments that run on the HDX card. They run on the computer's processor. Virtual Instruments have nothing to do with the HDX card.

If you want to run a lot of samplers/VIs, invest in Vienna Pro and a PC with a lot of ram and multiple processors.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2018, 02:15 AM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

As you can read we do run Vienna pro. But the overall architecture, as to what I read, has that improved so much (since the jump to 64bit compared to TDM and PT10 HD) that you can run a kickass session.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2018, 02:24 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

HDX is about the card.
Pro Tools Ultimate is the software (only) part.
HDX card will not contribute to the performance of VIs.
HDX will reduce latency on tracking (if using AAX-DSP plugins only -- so no VIs again).

Regular Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate are built on the exact same architecture. You can find what the added features are for Ultimate on Avid's website but none help running VIs.

If your question is about HDX, it's about the HDX card. You can get the software components separately (Pro Tools or Pro Tools Ultimate). 64-bit architecture has helped Pro Tools address more memory which is crucial for samplers using more RAM (like every other 64 bit DAW.) It doesn't, however, change how Pro Tools works per se.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2018, 02:25 AM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

Ps... in terms of converters. Stick to our Aurora's or switch to Avid or perhaps Antelope (many io, very plenty io, what's the catch?)...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2018, 04:11 AM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
...64-bit architecture has helped Pro Tools address more memory which is crucial for samplers using more RAM (like every other 64 bit DAW.)... [/I].
Thnx! So this was a big step from older PT versions? I run native on a laptop that I use to write songs or compose cue's at home. You always kinda notice the slights limitations but hey it's a laptop not one of the studios you've invested in for over the years. What I hated where sessions corrupting over too many grouped layers, and (part from the buffers size) a massive delay compensation. Example: when composing for ad's for instance I love getting sounddesign/sfx into a creative session, specially a crisp vo to mould the whole production together... I use fabfilter multiband a lot with a sidechain on voice frequencies... just this plugin already can make a session laggy and for some reason create a tming latency of nearly a 32th...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-23-2018, 08:16 PM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

So to follow up, what is the best mac to go for? A beefed up “cheese grater” or a shiny new “trash can”? Specially when you want to run vi heavy sessions.

I can find some lists of hdx dsp plugins but any user tips? I love the waves api plugs for their sound, fab filter for their cunningness and slate for their tape saturation and summing algorithms...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2018, 01:29 PM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

Just to bump this up a bit? How much has the Midi side of things been improved over the years? Are things syncing up better now in terms of latency, delay compensation and a negative midi-delay...?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you invest in HD3 PCIe today? Trailerman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 05-18-2011 03:53 PM
Should I invest in Pro Tools? worldwidestudios Post - Surround - Video 18 08-31-2010 10:06 AM
What should i invest in next? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 03-23-2004 11:21 AM
should i invest into a control for pt??? KemikAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 06-04-2002 07:16 AM
Invest in PRO-TOOLS now??? microphone General Discussion 16 06-08-2000 07:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com