Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 08-26-2018, 10:01 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
Nothing better than the most recent 2018 builds of Pro Tools. If you spend money on an upgrade or a new copy, I would only recommend getting PT 12 or 2018. Also load MacOS 10.13 on your new machine. Everything is solid and stable. They've also pushed out tons of new features in the last year.
i'm gonna interject there and say load sierra instead, 12.12.6

why recommend an OS that Avid don't?

Unless he loads an earlier version, prior to 10.13.4
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-26-2018, 10:03 PM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 112
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Well I can at least swap the video cards ?, old failing 250XT, and put in the Raedon 5770.
If you're replacing the video card be aware that older graphics cards won't support Metal with the new Apple OS Mojave.
This includes the Radeon 5770.
You should probably think about purchasing a Metal compatible graphics card.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz Six Core Xeon, 48gb ram, Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7, HD Native card, Avid 96io interface, Avid 192io, Intensity Pro video card, Radeon HD 7970 graphics card, Mac OS X 10.13.2
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-26-2018, 10:52 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,469
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lae777 View Post
If you're replacing the video card be aware that older graphics cards won't support Metal with the new Apple OS Mojave.
This includes the Radeon 5770.
You should probably think about purchasing a Metal compatible graphics card.
Thanks so much folks. Okay here's what I'm planning on. staying on PT9, with Lion.



5770 is the original Mac vid card. I don't understand support metal?. Sorry, been out of the loop, so please forgive.



I also just read that the single core runs more efficient than the duo core ?, and not all software utilizes all the cores ?
__________________
MAC PRO 5,1 2.8 -Lion 10.7.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE

Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-26-2018, 11:01 PM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 112
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Apple Insider website say this about Metal;
"In order to run the new macOS Mojave, Macs must have graphics hardware capable of supporting Metal, Apple's modern low-level, low-overhead software that provides access to graphics processing."
If you plan on staying on PT9 and Lion I guess it won't matter, but if you ever intend to upgrade to the newest OS (and Pro Tools) then it is a consideration.
You can always upgrade your graphics card later of course.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz Six Core Xeon, 48gb ram, Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7, HD Native card, Avid 96io interface, Avid 192io, Intensity Pro video card, Radeon HD 7970 graphics card, Mac OS X 10.13.2
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-27-2018, 08:16 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
i'm gonna interject there and say load sierra instead, 12.12.6

why recommend an OS that Avid don't?

Unless he loads an earlier version, prior to 10.13.4
Yes, true. I cant argue with that at all. I’m still running 12.12.6, but I’ve seen the last few releases of PT run extremely well with versions versions of 10.13. If I were setting up a new system right now, I would pick one of the 10.13 releases. But I prefer to stay on the bleeding edge. Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
HP Z230 Hackintosh, RME MADI
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-27-2018, 06:48 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,469
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Thanks folks, well I think I will run both computers and see how the responsiveness is between the two. I'll know right off hand if the single processor is up to par in the 2010 Mac Pro is going to cut it when I use Melodyne, when using it with my 2008, Melodyne always quits during transfer, and I have to continually transfers in sections, if the 2010 transfers the the audio without quitting, that will tell me the throughput is much better.
__________________
MAC PRO 5,1 2.8 -Lion 10.7.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE

Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:19 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,469
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

FOUND REALLY INTRIGUING.
YOU FOLKS ARE TRULY GREAT & HELPFUL.
Okay I just did something I always was frustrated with Melodyne, on my 2008 Mac Pro when transferring analyzing a track, it would always quit during transferring, and I would have to start again where it left off. WOW, I just did a track, and with many plugins in the session running already, which I never do, and always use melodyne with no other plugins so it wouldn't strain the computer. Anyhow it rendered the track (FLAWLESSLY), and with many plugins running. I'm sold !. I never saw that with my 2008.

Also I just swapped the SSD driver from the 2008 and fired right up in the 2010, but on the hardware playback engine it still sees *8* cores, and not the quad core for the single processor?. Perhaps that why it takes longer to boot up ?.

Should I do a clean install ? thanks again
__________________
MAC PRO 5,1 2.8 -Lion 10.7.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE

Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-27-2018, 09:19 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,469
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

If I may ask one more question please?


Looking to snag an upgrade as recommended, X5690 CPU, not really sure which one, or are they all the same ?


thanks
__________________
MAC PRO 5,1 2.8 -Lion 10.7.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE

Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-27-2018, 09:38 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

I would recommend getting a whole kit on EBay. It comes with a tool and thermal grease, etc.

I think mine are the X5690.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
HP Z230 Hackintosh, RME MADI
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-27-2018, 09:40 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

And make sure they are not the decapitated ones for 2008/2009 MacBook Pro. For 2010 and newer you want the ones that still have the lid on the top. If you look down at the top of the processor, it’s flat silver metal.

If the top is been removed, you will see some gold components; that’s not the right one.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
HP Z230 Hackintosh, RME MADI
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Harpertown quad 3.0 to 2010 Westmere quad 2.4??? audioluche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 11-15-2012 07:14 PM
2008 Mac Pro w/ lots of ram or 2009/2010 w/ low ram? Ross H Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 08-29-2011 04:19 PM
Mac Pro 2010 2.8 GHz Quad Core vs. 2008 2.8 GHz 8-Core audiosf Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 04-07-2011 03:27 PM
NAB April 2010 - anything new ?? scotsman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 03-10-2010 12:40 AM
Replacing stock 9600/350 (upgraded G3/400) video card Marco Migliari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-13-2000 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com