How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-16-2013, 12:07 PM

Default need to restart PT due to sound distortion

hi

I’m new to PT10 and DAW, but now the owner of a mbox mini with a free PT 10 upgrade. Problem starts with playing demos (first act of beginning to use PT), where it sounds distorted and flat (mostly the bass and drums sounds like 8-bit), but when doing a PT restart all returns to normal, and sounds good

This issue can return again after a 3rd PT restart (no reboot of the pc).. and so on..

I started with installing PT9 and had no issues, then downloaded PT10, uninstalled PT9 completely (also mbox drivers),, and then for course installing mbox and PT10 :)

I hope someone can help, because it's really annoying to learn a new program like this

EDIT: due to the link below :)
SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Lenovo 4236PFG ThinkPad T420
Mainboard : Lenovo 4236PFG
Serial Number : 1ZJJR******
BIOS : Lenovo 83ET67WW (1.37 ) 11/28/2011
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : 1.02, STM
Intel vPro : 7.01.14.1107
Total Memory : 7.89GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2640M CPU @ 2.80GHz (2C 4T 3.49GHz, 3.5GHz IMC, 2x 256kB L2, 4MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC PGA988

Chipset
Memory Controller : Lenovo Core (Sandy Bridge) Mobile DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMT351S6CFR8C-H9 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 99U5428-040A01LF 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Storage Devices
INTEL SSDSC2CW180A3 (180GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD) : 168GB (C:)
Optiarc DVD RW AD-7710H (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Operating System