Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2016, 03:27 PM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 462
Default Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

I was at Best Buy today and got an LG 29" Ultrawide for $179.

I had to use ScreenResX to hook it up to my Mac but this thing is awesome!!!

Tons of real estate for editing and mixing.

Anyone else using one?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2016, 04:05 PM
mlange's Avatar
mlange mlange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 402
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

We're all in here, too.

Lower vertical profile worked nicely with our config :)
__________________
________________________
www.PlethoraTone.com
PlethoraTone Studio Video Tour
At PlethoraTone:
Intel Core i7-4960X, Asus P9X79 LE, W7 Pro 64-bit, 16GB DDR3,
Avid HD Native, Pro Tools HD v10, 4/192 I/O, 2/UAD-2 QUAD,
Tascam US-2400, Exponential Audio, PSP, Kush, Slate Digital,
Waves Mercury, PA, Melodyne, Antares, Audioease, SoundToys
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2016, 04:38 PM
DannyB_KY's Avatar
DannyB_KY DannyB_KY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: 2miles from Jim Beam
Posts: 44
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

As you, I love all that screen real estate!😎 That's a great monitor!👍

I used a different method. Im using a pair of Samsung Curved 27" HD widescreen monitors. Editor on one and mixer on the other! They aren't as wide as yours are!
__________________
An understand spouse, some mics, tube guitar amps, gray foam stuff stuck to the walls, a drum kit, a Mac or two, and an interface. A really understanding spouse!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2016, 06:57 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 849
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

Not an ultrawide, but I've been using a dual monitor setup for years and years. Currently running two 24 inch, each at 1920 X 1080.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noah330 View Post
I was at Best Buy today and got an LG 29" Ultrawide for $179.

I had to use ScreenResX to hook it up to my Mac but this thing is awesome!!!

Tons of real estate for editing and mixing.

Anyone else using one?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2016, 08:12 PM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 253
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyB_KY View Post
As you, I love all that screen real estate!�� That's a great monitor!��

I used a different method. Im using a pair of Samsung Curved 27" HD widescreen monitors. Editor on one and mixer on the other! They aren't as wide as yours are!
I fell in love with the real estate on my 34" LG 34UM95 Thunderbolt 2 monitor -

3440X1440 paired with an Asus 27" at 1920x1080 for picture playback.




E>
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2019.10.494, Atmos Production Suite 3.2, MDA Creator1.5, Rx7 Advanced, Ozone 8 Advanced, Kontakt 6.1.1, Soundminer v4.5Pro, Spanner 3.0.5, SoundHack 0.896
EuControl 19.12.0.14, Avid Control 19.12.05, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 3, Apollo 8 Duo tb2, UAD-2 Satellite Quad tb2, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 4 28TB

Last edited by Ed Douglas; 11-26-2016 at 02:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2016, 10:03 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,048
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

been digging mine for a while. the low profile helps in particular with 5.1 setups
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Tim Reisig Audio.jpg (58.4 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.4.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.1, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-26-2016, 10:34 AM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 742
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

40" Samsung 4K here ($449 @ Wally World), amazing amount of real estate for a DAW. It's 35 inches wide which is almost perfect for a nearfield setup with my Dynaudio BM5s.
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018, 2019
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Vienna Ensemble Pro 7
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 8 in/8 out/Digtal I/O
192 Analog I/O 8 in/Digital I/O
Two 192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800, AD16X & DA16X (All wth X-HD cards)
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.5 Mojave

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card
OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra & Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-26-2016, 10:36 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,130
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

27" Apple TB Display here, mirrored via AirPlay to the spot where artist performs. Very nice! Many artists appreciate the fact that they can see what is really happening on the control room
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-26-2016, 01:39 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 813
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

32" LG Ultrawide 3440x1440 here.

I use it for my mix window, and Soundminer peripheral windows.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2016, 05:11 PM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 312
Default Re: Just bough an Ultrawide Monitor - WOW

I've had my Apple 30" above and a Slate MTi on the bottom. A great combination.
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.5, Slate MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 2 Pro Monitor knob has stopped changing monitor levels Rumandolin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2013 10:13 AM
just bough an hd pci-x core card for $689 Filmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 16 05-19-2011 08:14 AM
I just bough my first HD rig! fretfingers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 01-04-2010 08:36 PM
!Firewire to Ultrawide SCSI conversion! Mr T 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 07-31-2001 01:20 AM
Scsi 160?lvd? Ultrawide? SCSI3 ?-Ide ata100 Morningstar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-06-2001 09:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com