Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2020, 04:44 PM
Brinewr Brinewr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 11
Default ProTools Takes 1-2 minutes to create new Projects

I have Pro Tools 2019.12
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017)
4.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
64 GB 2400 MHz DDR4


I have all of my Pro Tools files on a external SSD. Many other applications on my mac use this drive and save files without delay.


ONLY ProTools takes 1-2 minutes of the dreaded beachball before it creates new projects. Launching Pro Tools isn't delayed. Saving newly recorded files isn't delayed. ONLY when I try to create a new project file does this delay happen.


As a Voice Actor, I'm auditioning all day long and, for each new project I create, I must wait 1-2 minutes.

HELP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2020, 04:53 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 828
Default Re: ProTools Takes 1-2 minutes to create new Projects

Are you creating a Session, or a Project? If project, it sounds like you have a slow ISP connection.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2020, 05:07 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,755
Default Re: ProTools Takes 1-2 minutes to create new Projects

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinewr View Post
HELP
As said, you need to be more clear on what are you doing. Local copy of your stuff is called "session" and cloud copy is called "project". Sometimes with a slow network even creating a project may take a while. PT|first can only do projects, but I take it you have PT standard software which can do both. So which are you trying to do?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2020, 07:57 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,012
Default Re: ProTools Takes 1-2 minutes to create new Projects

Yes a bit confusing (granted Avid did consumers no favors labeling the cloud option as "Projects" ) given that noun is what most other DAWs call their Sessions.

That said if it is Projects he is making then the ISP would be suspect and could be checked with a simple internet speed test.

As a reference I have my PT Sessions stored on an internal PCIe SSD and they take about 12-20 seconds to load .
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.12 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2020, 01:24 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,950
Default Re: ProTools Takes 1-2 minutes to create new Projects

To the OP:
What's your system drive - Fusion drive or a true ssd? If a Fusion drive that could be your issue. Also are you letting your drives sleep?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to create any Projects (3 of 3 Projects | max reached | 0% Storage used) clusterer Avid Cloud Collaboration 15 04-07-2016 02:05 AM
PT HD9 takes 5 minutes to load jasonkyle@gmail.com macOS 3 11-18-2011 12:44 PM
PT8 takes 5 minutes to startup... Eric Lambert Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 03-25-2010 09:26 AM
ProTools takes 5 minutes to Launch enafuit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-24-2010 03:53 PM
HELP! 9.1 takes 5 minutes to boot Gulliver Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-05-2001 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com