Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2008, 05:59 PM
studiokeyz studiokeyz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default mono/stereo question

I finally got my new setup going, using both the s/pdif ports. Strings/piano need 2 be stereo, could I just record a mono track and dupicate and pan it the opposite way 2 get that stereo ambience, or do I need 2 inputs going into the digi002? I'm using the 2 input method now but would like 2 use that extra input for another instrument if I can just copy a mono track 2 make it stereo.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2008, 06:13 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: mono/stereo question

you could but all your really doing is making mono
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2008, 06:56 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: mono/stereo question

make a stereo pair, that way you have a true stereo tracks
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:43 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: mono/stereo question

If you want stereo ambience you might consider creating a send to a stereo aux loaded with a reverb plug.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2008, 08:12 AM
studiokeyz studiokeyz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: mono/stereo question

Thanks. I will create a send 2 a stereo aux. That way I can use the extra line for a lead guiar
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:25 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: mono/stereo question

Just want to point out that " Strings/piano need 2 be stereo" is a subjective artistic choice, not a rule.

A book I used to have called the Mixing Engineers Handbook had lots of advice, but 1 of the things that stuck was that the stereo output from keyboards/sound modules/synths etc. ended up sounding boring if it is all recorded in hard L/R stereo. Often, the sound sample being used is just being treated with some low quality built in effect (chorus,reverb, whatever) to achieve "stereo". You leave yourself more mixing options by having a bunch of mono tracks instead of stereo tracks, not to mention you are saving available track usage.

Imagine trying to present the sound of a string quartet to a user that is standing pretty close to the action. If you had 4 stereo tracks then you wouldn't be able to distinguish where the individual instruments are in the stereo field. With mono tracks you can pan then appropriately and then use a send on each track going to a stereo reverb to tie them all back together in a simulated room/space.
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question about mono/stereo plug ins on mono tracks. rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 2 12-24-2011 07:33 PM
mono / stereo question shambles Pro Tools 9 21 03-19-2011 08:12 AM
Stereo Aux vs Mono Aux and Turning that Mono into stereo via a stereo Plugin JesseF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 02-14-2010 09:01 AM
Stereo and Mono question Daubian Post - Surround - Video 2 03-15-2007 09:08 PM
Stereo/mono question totemspock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-25-2005 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com