Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:15 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,844
Default Presonus DigiMax FS

Here is something I stumbled upon:
===================
PreSonus Audio has announced the new DigiMax FS — an 8-channel microphone preamplifier with 8 channels of 96K ADAT (dual SMUX) in/out, balanced analog direct outputs, and TRS inserts on each channel.

The DIGIMAX FS is the perfect solution to add eight class A preamps to expand any digital audio hardware system with ADAT optical light pipe I/O including the Digidesign 002, and 002 Rack, Yamaha DM series digital mixers, RME recording interfaces and of course the PreSonus FireStudio.

DigiMax FS Features:

8 class A microphone preamps w/ trim control
24-bit resolution, up to 96K sampling rate
96k ADAT input/output (dual SMUX)
direct outputs on every channel
inserts on every channel
word clock input/output

===================
Now I don't think the 002/002r support SMUX so the 96K via ADAT optical in is not going to work. You are still limited to 8 channels of 48K via the ADAT optical input. The 002/002r only have one ADAT input. The plus over the Digimax LT is that you get 8 channels of DAC for eight additional outs (again limited to 48K). For those looking to get a Digimax LT, this Digimax FS may be the way to go. Perhaps the next interface by Digidesign will support SMUX.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:13 AM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Presonus DigiMax FS

Quote:
Here is something I stumbled upon:
===================
PreSonus Audio has announced the new DigiMax FS — an 8-channel microphone preamplifier with 8 channels of 96K ADAT (dual SMUX) in/out, balanced analog direct outputs, and TRS inserts on each channel.

The DIGIMAX FS is the perfect solution to add eight class A preamps to expand any digital audio hardware system with ADAT optical light pipe I/O including the Digidesign 002, and 002 Rack, Yamaha DM series digital mixers, RME recording interfaces and of course the PreSonus FireStudio.

DigiMax FS Features:

8 class A microphone preamps w/ trim control
24-bit resolution, up to 96K sampling rate
96k ADAT input/output (dual SMUX)
direct outputs on every channel
inserts on every channel
word clock input/output

===================
Now I don't think the 002/002r support SMUX so the 96K via ADAT optical in is not going to work. You are still limited to 8 channels of 48K via the ADAT optical input. The 002/002r only have one ADAT input. The plus over the Digimax LT is that you get 8 channels of DAC for eight additional outs (again limited to 48K). For those looking to get a Digimax LT, this Digimax FS may be the way to go. Perhaps the next interface by Digidesign will support SMUX.
Is there someplace else that it says it has 8 DAC outputs? because by reading that I would say that it doesnt. That up there say's it's more like a Octopre where you can use it as outboard pre's and run them to just say a console or you can use the ADAT outputs.
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:47 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,844
Default Re: Presonus DigiMax FS

I did not find the DigiMax FS this on their website but I read the ad on the current issue of Electronic Musician. It has a picture of the back of the unit. I will check again tonight as I didn't bring the issue with me. I think you are right that these are just direct outs from the pres and not DAC outs from the DAW. Too bad as that would have been a great feature to have. Nevertheless, it is still a good investment for those considering the Digimax LT.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:31 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Presonus DigiMax FS

Quote:
Nevertheless, it is still a good investment for those considering the Digimax LT.

I agree, I love my digimax LT, but I would not purchase this just because my digimax LT does what I need it to so I am just saving up to start getting outboard pre's and this new Lucid Converter.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product?sku=188301
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2006, 02:25 PM
Maehlice Maehlice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Presonus DigiMax FS

The DigiMax FS does have DAC outputs.

Quote:
I did not find the DigiMax FS this on their website but I read the ad on the current issue of Electronic Musician. It has a picture of the back of the unit. I will check again tonight as I didn't bring the issue with me. I think you are right that these are just direct outs from the pres and not DAC outs from the DAW. Too bad as that would have been a great feature to have. Nevertheless, it is still a good investment for those considering the Digimax LT.
If you look at the back of the DigiMax FS, you'll see 24 TRS jacks. 8 are inserts, 8 are analogue outputs from the preamps, & the last 8 (closest to the ADAT) are DAC outputs. You can see 4 ADAT jacks. Two of them are output and the other 2 of are for input to the D/A converters, which come out the DAC outputs.

PreSonus has really done a great thing .. now if only DigiDesign will add BNC to their next generation 002.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2006, 09:42 AM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Presonus DigiMax FS

Quote:
The DigiMax FS does have DAC outputs.

Quote:
I did not find the DigiMax FS this on their website but I read the ad on the current issue of Electronic Musician. It has a picture of the back of the unit. I will check again tonight as I didn't bring the issue with me. I think you are right that these are just direct outs from the pres and not DAC outs from the DAW. Too bad as that would have been a great feature to have. Nevertheless, it is still a good investment for those considering the Digimax LT.
If you look at the back of the DigiMax FS, you'll see 24 TRS jacks. 8 are inserts, 8 are analogue outputs from the preamps, & the last 8 (closest to the ADAT) are DAC outputs. You can see 4 ADAT jacks. Two of them are output and the other 2 of are for input to the D/A converters, which come out the DAC outputs.

PreSonus has really done a great thing .. now if only DigiDesign will add BNC to their next generation 002.
I just finally saw a pic I couldn't find a pic of the back of the back of the unit though, but I don't like that the inputs are on the front.
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:44 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,844
Default Re: Presonus DigiMax FS

Yup, The latest ad includes a clear picture of the back and a clear caption showing the 8 DAC outputs in all their glory. The DAC's are a good solution for most in the Digi001/002 price range. At least you don't have to hide a Berringer piece of crap (sorry for being a snob against Berringer but it is what it is). On the other hand a Apogee is probably slightly beyond the budget of Digi001/002 owners (not all but most). I'm not going to dump my Digimax LE (which I Love) just yet but if I were buying my 8 channels of pres for the ADAT in's now, this is what I would seriously consider. I see the point about the inputs on the front but since I use a patchbay anyways it's not a real big issue. It's an asthetics thing though.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Presonus Digimax... not bad Riad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 06-17-2004 04:42 PM
anyone use the presonus digimax? Mike F 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-23-2001 04:41 PM
Anyone Using Presonus Digimax???? Treble Hum General Discussion 0 10-12-2000 12:04 PM
Presonus Digimax audioisgood 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-04-2000 12:16 AM
DigiMAX by Presonus. MattStrat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-16-2000 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com