Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2007, 07:46 AM
nowinner nowinner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Berlin Germany and Malmö Sweden
Posts: 101
Default Avid and PT compatibility?

Hi

The company were I work are useing Avid systems. Now they want to start with audio aswell. I just want to know if there are any advantages working with a PT HD 2 system instead of maybe something else like Nuendo ?

I would like to use PT since that is the program I know the best and love. Can´t really get around in Nuendo. my boss think that Nuendo "look" cooler... I just want to know if there is something to gain with PT and Avid setup ?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2007, 08:30 AM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 810
Default Re: Avid and PT compatibility?

Which direction are you planning to go? PT for audio post -> AVID for video editing?
Where is your timecoding done? and finally, does your company have to deal with format
conversions and sync issues (e.g., film->video, PAL->NTSC, audio to video playback
devices)? These details may help you make a better decision about which tool is better
suited.

There are obvious advantages to having a single-vendor supported flow .. and many of the
kinks of going back and forth from Avid to PT have been worked out. Avid->Nuendo and Nuendo->Avid
also work (via OMF), but there are some issues that require some workarounds (notably,interleaved
stereo issues).

jeff
__________________
Joe Barresi & Tony Shepperd Master Series
http://techbreakfast.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid announces new Mac Pro compatibility nst7 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-18-2010 10:50 AM
7.4 Avid Unity Compatibility? redecho Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 12-17-2007 09:25 AM
Avid compatibility Toko Aspera DigiDelivery 1 07-20-2006 09:32 AM
Compatibility between PT and Avid MRC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-24-2003 08:28 AM
Avid file compatibility... HELP! donpietra Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-17-2002 02:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com