Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2008, 04:51 AM
abayman65 abayman65 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 44
Default Pro Tools video issue

Hi,

I'm using a Pro Tools HD rig, v7.4 CS 7, HD 6 (An Icon too).

I've had an ongoing issue with video picture. Basically, anytime I do any function involving video (importing/Putting out of firewire, editing), the 'spinny' ball appears and it take a few minutes to do anything. Bear in mind this is an HD6, and it regularly run 100s of channels of audio with numerous plugins no problem.
It's very frustrating, as if I have to ever (god forbid) makes multiple picture edits, it can take 30 mins to do something which should take 2 mins!!

Also, task manager (searching and importing audio) seems to be a little sluggish as well (could be a related problem?)

I have upgraded from 7.3-4 and CS upgrades and always the same.

Any ideas anyone??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:50 AM
drenkrom drenkrom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Quebec
Posts: 393
Default Re: Pro Tools video issue

I've had this very often while outputting through Canopus ADVC-100's and ADVC-110's. It's related to the firewire chip in the interfaces and is resolved through rebooting them. Some firewire chip require a particular sequence of plugging/unplugging and turning on/off, but most video interfaces I've had to fiddle with responded to the standard turn off/unplug/wait/plug/turn on dance.

I have seen one instance where the problem you describe followed the video interface onto other systems, no matter how often it was rebooted. After being assigned to other duties, the interface eventually died, so there is the possibility it could be more than a power cycle issue.

You don't mention how you output the video from your PT system, but that is definitely where I'd be looking first.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2008, 09:03 AM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
Default Re: Pro Tools video issue

I know it all depends on personal workflow, but I have never been happier since I ditched the firewire video out. I now ask for higher res picture - usually HD if the source is such - and it spits out the second DVI slot on my vid card.

I love it!

Don't forget to buy this if you don't have it already:

http://syncheck.com/

IHTH.

Rob Burrell
aka mixboy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2008, 10:11 AM
marty lester marty lester is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: austin, tx usa
Posts: 138
Default Re: Pro Tools video issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by abayman65 View Post
Hi,

I'm using a Pro Tools HD rig, v7.4 CS 7, HD 6 (An Icon too).

I've had an ongoing issue with video picture. Basically, anytime I do any function involving video (importing/Putting out of firewire, editing), the 'spinny' ball appears and it take a few minutes to do anything. Bear in mind this is an HD6, and it regularly run 100s of channels of audio with numerous plugins no problem.
Any ideas anyone??
i've experienced this too. one thing it could be...and i'm not 100% sure this is an issue...but i've noticed i have this problem when the permissions on the movie file are set to "read only" or if it's not "owned" by the local computer.

in summary, make sure your permissions on the video clips are set to read/write and owned by the local computer. it might help.

well, hope it helps anyway,
marty.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:07 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,700
Default Re: Pro Tools video issue

Also, what drives are you using for video and audio? Which computer model, etc?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 Windows 8 video issue provod Pro Tools 11 6 06-24-2013 10:19 PM
10.1.2 - still big video issue Meads macOS 16 04-14-2012 03:43 AM
Video Satellite LE Administrator Video Issue Flash HD Post - Surround - Video 2 11-17-2010 08:12 PM
Video Issue PT 7.4 Daniel Sasso Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-14-2009 11:17 AM
Pro Tools and MPC 1000 Issue (Video Included) 90Brownie MIDI 2 01-31-2009 02:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com