Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2007, 10:21 AM
gweber gweber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10
Default What now , after all these years ...???

Gentlemen , I bought an Mbox in 2002, at the time , the dealer said it was just plug and play ... well ,it wasn't and I didn't have the right OS to make this mbox happy ...so I put it away for a while ... Finally got it out to try again and the software is now outdated and now have OS 10.3.9 Old 5..2 LE only works with OS 9... What do I do now ....???? Can I download some later software for OSX ... ??? I'm a guitar player/maker, not a computer genius, and need all the help I can get...Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated... thank you !!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2007, 10:40 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

Quote:
What do I do now ....???? Can I download some later software for OSX ... ???
upgrade to 10.4.

This is where having a reliable dealer is key, and I'm not talking about someone at Guitar Center. A Digi dealer that knows the system in and out. Someone that specializes in Pro Tools, not just sells it.

If you're going to use a place like Guitar Center, thats fine, just do your research. When walking into a store like that, you should know what you came in to get and that it will work with what you have.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2018.7
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2007, 10:48 AM
Pepo Pepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 165
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

You dont say the computer you use. Depending on that, 10.3.x could be better than 10.4. Depending on the system you use, you are goint to have to upgrade either to PT 6 or PT 7. I think its not very expensive in your country. Then you would have to read the digi desing compatibility documents and working systems at the top of this forum in order to get a good system running.
Good luck
Pepo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2007, 12:14 PM
gweber gweber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

Jre , I was dragged in by another band member ...It was a moment of weakness... I had some cash ... you know !!! It was an attempt to record the band , a prerequisite for getting gigs lately...and the kid made it looks so easy ...Unfortunately it didn't want to work so well on my aging Imac...700mhz powerPCG3... finally got the OS upgraded, more issues... Now all my computers 2 IMac, I book are all OSX 3.9.3...My 5.2 only works with OS9...and it seems not in classic... I have no idea what to do ... should/can I download (how) a new version of the Pro tools LE that's compatable with the new OS??? Now read the newer V is not compatable with 10.9.3...???Frustrating!!!

The guys in the band want me to just get Garage Band and use the old Mbox as an interface ... I think since I'm so far into this , I should stick with this ...I dunno'...!!!
Pepo... what is PT6 ??? sorry , my DUMB!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2007, 12:38 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

I understand the temptation, and the moment of weakness...believe me. We all have it to some degree.

I would take Pro Tools over Garageband. I don't really think that’s good advice. You have so much more flexibility.

PT6 is Pro Tools 6. A later version than what you have. The latest version out is Pro Tools 7.3. I don't know that it would work with your computer, being an earlier model. There is a ton of information on digidesign.com and here on the DUC that you can access telling you what is compatible. You might try looking into that to determine your next step.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2018.7
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2007, 12:47 PM
Majorek Majorek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Blue Garbage Planet
Posts: 222
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

Pro Tools VS Garageband... Duh.
__________________
MacBook Pro - OS X 10.6 - Pro Tools LE 8 - Mbox 2

Drone / Ambient / Experimental
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2007, 02:50 PM
gweber gweber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

Jre, That's what I was thinking , and besides what does the band know , I'm the one that has to foot the bill for all this .. I'll try downloading PT6 ... many Thanks for your replies...

maj , when you don't know , you don't know ... we were all there once , even you , eh ???
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2007, 02:59 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

No problem. FYI: PT6 is a paid upgrade from 5.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2018.7
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:09 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=23611

Looks like Ver 6.9 is your new best friend.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2007, 04:02 PM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: What now , after all these years ...???

HI,

how about getting an OS9 from ebay and run ProTools 5.x on it?
might be the cheapest way.
You know you can install OS9 along with OS X and acutally BOOT into OS9 (no CLASSIC).

This might get much more out of your G3 700MHz iMac in OS9 than with OS X.

And it hasn´t been mentioned yet than yu might need a dedicated harddisk for audio.
If you go external FirerWire make sure it has the Oxford 911 bridgechip chipset in it.
But I can´t remember if FireWire disks was supported with PT under OS9.

If you stay with OS X make you you have at least 1 GB of RAM our you PT6.9 will get yu nowhere.

my 2 cents

regs
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHY did I not do this 10 years ago?! midnightrambler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-19-2010 07:23 AM
5 Years JMS40 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-28-2005 06:05 PM
OT - How was your New Years gig? bigd General Discussion 7 01-05-2005 01:57 AM
OT - 60 Years After D-Day The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-07-2004 01:49 PM
In maybe 3 or 5 years Lalaman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-09-2003 08:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com