Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-25-2011, 01:37 PM

Question Difference of I/O Midi In/Out etc

Newbie here, and trying to learn.

Is there a good tutorial, to tell the difference and learn about function of each of these:

1. I/O (Audio In)
2. I/O (Audio Out)
3. Instrument (Midi Input)
4. Instrument (Midi Output)
5. Inserts
6. Sends
7. Audio/Aux/Midi/Instrument Tracks

Thanks (Start with simple explanation first )
Old 01-25-2011, 05:49 PM

Default Re: Difference of I/O Midi In/Out etc

I like the Groove3 collection of videos.
http://www.groove3.com/str/
Old 01-26-2011, 07:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ossi69 View Post
Newbie here, and trying to learn.

Is there a good tutorial, to tell the difference and learn about function of each of these:

1. I/O (Audio In)

How audio gets into ProTools. The number of input connections you have on your actual audio hardware gives you the number of possible I/O (Audio IN) in the software. You plug a microphone, for instance, into an input on your hardware and Pro Tools will record it if you have that I/O (input) selected on a track.

2. I/O (Audio Out)

How audio gets out of ProTools. The number of output connections you have on your actual audio hardware gives you the number of possible I/O (Audio Out) in the software. The most common reason to have audio coming out of Pro Tools is to go to speakers or headphones.

3. Instrument (Midi Input)

MIDI input allows Pro tools to know when you are playing on a MIDI device, like a keyboard controller, or drum pads.

4. Instrument (Midi Output)