Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:38 PM
TREXROCK TREXROCK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Default 7.4 waste of my cash?

Well im going back to 7.3, 14 plugins and my cpu is half used up? sorry. I was so stoked for this, it would have been nice to know this update is a straight up cpu hog. I'm not going to limit processing for this when i can use TCE and beat detective and achieve similar results. I know i'll get knocked for saying this but i bought my computer only a year and a half ago and it doesn't cut it for this? BOOOO! I love pro tools still and will never ever switch but this is a joke, and do we have to accept this as the be all end all of it? or can we expect some tweaks that will improve cpu usage. All I know is tonight I'm switching back until they fix this. Another discouraging thought also is if 7.5 has delay compensation and I can't use it cause elastic audio is here to stay, dammit. Bring on the delay comp, I think people wanted that more than this EA thing so whats the hold up?
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1, Intel Xeon 2.66 Quad Core, 6 GB Ram
OSX 10.6.8
Pro Tools HD 9
HD 2 Accel System, 192io,

Macbook Pro 5,5, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53, 4 GB Ram
OSX 10.7.2
Presonus StudioLive 16, Cakewalk UA-25 ex USB

Studio: www.sonicpit.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:50 PM
neatguys neatguys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: mi.
Posts: 812
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

i know its a cpu pig . But watch those movies about stretch !!I just bought another mbox 2 so i got 7.4 free (downloaded after registration). its totally kicked my laptops butt but rocks good on my dual core tower . all i did though was edit my new york drums which i have had forever into perfect loops .
Havent tried any real multi tracking yet though .
__________________
Davec 1 results,32+68 at 1024 buffer,32+ 41 at 128 buffer both 24 bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:56 PM
TREXROCK TREXROCK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

I watched the movies that's why I couldn't wait to buy it and I did! But I feel really bummmed about it right now, Im running a 2.8 ghz dual core intel and 3 gb ram I know that's not the fastest rig out there but it's not the slowest either! So I don't know may give it a shot but feeling rather sketchy at the moment.
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1, Intel Xeon 2.66 Quad Core, 6 GB Ram
OSX 10.6.8
Pro Tools HD 9
HD 2 Accel System, 192io,

Macbook Pro 5,5, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53, 4 GB Ram
OSX 10.7.2
Presonus StudioLive 16, Cakewalk UA-25 ex USB

Studio: www.sonicpit.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2007, 02:04 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,559
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

You listed these system details in another post:
Quote:
Setup is
HP A1440n i945 chipshet 2.8 ghz dual core 820 viiv processor, 2 250 Gig hard drives audio drive is western digital sata. 3 Ghz ram
What operating system are you running?
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2007, 03:28 PM
TREXROCK TREXROCK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

I am running windows xp sp2 media edition. I know it says it's not compatible on here but it ran 7.3 without a hitch. Maybe it is the problem, just seems wierd that it ran 7.3 ok and not this. What do u think?
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1, Intel Xeon 2.66 Quad Core, 6 GB Ram
OSX 10.6.8
Pro Tools HD 9
HD 2 Accel System, 192io,

Macbook Pro 5,5, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53, 4 GB Ram
OSX 10.7.2
Presonus StudioLive 16, Cakewalk UA-25 ex USB

Studio: www.sonicpit.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2007, 08:45 AM
sriks sriks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

Hi,
In first place, I am just wondering how 7.3 worked on Windows Media edition,

I had a powerful windows XP media box with dual core cpus, tons of ram and acres of Harddisk space, I went to digi003, and it failed horribly, i had to revert to digi001 to keep my studio running,
I called support - but they had a well defined, documented exit strategy - unsupported OS - windows media edition. poof that's it,

I am a software architect by proffesion and I really see no big difference between media edition and the home edition but that knowledge did not help, digi had their anticipatory bail - a published list of unsupported systems. Instead of wasting time, I got a new dual core with XP home edition. Since then, PT has been well behaved other than occasional access violation error.

anticipatory bail as of today - USB Card readers can cause such error, and damn, I have an internal card reader slot [$60],which are "officially" disabled for pt to work.

Now for 7.4 they need $50,LOL ,

Comeon DigiDesign, rather than teasing small time (LE)musicians, you can make it up from Icon consoles and other HD hardwares.

Cheers.
__________________
~Be not afraid of growing slowly. Be afraid only of standing still
www.srikanthd.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2007, 09:52 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,791
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

Quote:
I am running windows xp sp2 media edition. I know it says it's not compatible on here but it ran 7.3 without a hitch. Maybe it is the problem, just seems wierd that it ran 7.3 ok and not this. What do u think?
We think that running an unsupported OS is an invitation to problems.

Very often with unsupported and known incompatible components we'll see them work for awhile - maybe a day, maybe a week, maybe a month or more. At some point the usually fail and, after that, there's really no recovering from it. Why this is, I can't be sure, but years of empirical evidence says 'avoid unsupported/incompatible components at all costs'.

You may want to post a Sandra report, so we can be sure that the rest of your system is within spec.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2007, 10:15 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

7.3 ran fine for me with MCE, so is 7.4. I test everthing in my MCE partition first. It's my guina pig so to speak.

Unsupported is unsupported though and I would advise anyone to run a supported OS. My "Real" Protools partition is XP Home.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2007, 01:46 PM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

While I'm usually the first one to say that Pro Tools LE is a hog, I don't find 7.4 to be any worse than 7.3. Overall I actually find it more "snappy".
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2007, 02:44 PM
neatguys neatguys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: mi.
Posts: 812
Default Re: 7.4 waste of my cash?

yeah i went from 7.0 to 7.4 Like the media center guy that posted this i am not running the required specs also. I dont have an external oxford 911 a firewire drive for audio only .
Mines also an xp pro laptop.Just ordered an enclosure
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other...ng/MEFW911UPL/

I am actually geeked about opening protools again after using ableton only for quite awhile
__________________
Davec 1 results,32+68 at 1024 buffer,32+ 41 at 128 buffer both 24 bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Go big or go home, or don't waste the cash? Mac Pro performance questions!! MetalbrookAudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-14-2009 11:28 PM
RIP: Johnny Cash orage 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-15-2003 02:26 AM
EXTRA CASH!!!!! basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-17-2002 11:21 AM
How mutch cash? Dapierdon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-16-2001 06:56 PM
How do I get V 2.X, does it involve cash? joules Digidesign Hardware & Software 15 04-20-1998 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com