Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2000, 08:58 AM
Rob Raden Rob Raden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: dallas, tx, usa
Posts: 5
Default G3 - Sleep!?! What gives?

My mac puts itself to sleep even though I've removed the energy saver control panel! Am I missing something!??

Are there any other background deamons I need to watch out for to keep my PT happy?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2000, 09:23 AM
Studio Dweller Studio Dweller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 667
Default Re: G3 - Sleep!?! What gives?

I have a G3/266 and it has done the same thing in the past. Right now, it's behaving properly. I'm running OS 8.6 and I have the energy saver control panel active, but sleep set to "Never". I imagine you've tried that, but maybe just try reactivating the control panel and setting it to "Never" again.


------------------
Larry Bentley
Cellar Dweller Productions
www.cellardweller.com
__________________
Larry
Cellar Dweller Productions
PT 2020.3.0 HDX, HD IO 16x16 analog, 192 I/O, Control|24
Mac Pro 2019 16-core, 96GB RAM, OS 10.15.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2000, 09:27 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,790
Default Re: G3 - Sleep!?! What gives?

We have seen some funky behavior with Energy Saver. I would suggest enabling Energy Saver in your current extensions set and setting the slider to "Never".

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2000, 12:25 PM
Grey Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 298
Default Re: G3 - Sleep!?! What gives?

I have seen this same thing...
G3/300 just freezes all by it self
sometimes I'm not even using it


grey
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2000, 02:29 PM
Robert U Robert U is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Dubai U.A.E
Posts: 769
Default Re: G3 - Sleep!?! What gives?

I don't know if I agree with you, Chris...

I'd set the control panel to "never sleep" and then removed it. After while my Mac "went to sleep".

I put the panel back and now my G3 never sleeps!!!!!

------------------
Robert Uhlmann
__________________
www.extensivemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2000, 04:11 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,559
Default Re: G3 - Sleep!?! What gives?

Barnabas:
You are correct in almost all cases, but Robert U is correct in this case. Removing or disabling the Energy Saver Control Panel causes the Mac OS to use the Energy Saver default settings, which will put your mac to sleep after a few minutes of inactivity.
Have the Energy Saver control panel active in your Pro Tools extensions set, with sleep set to Never.

------------------
Bruce Paine
eMarketing
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2000, 01:44 AM
Barnabas Barnabas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: G3 - Sleep!?! What gives?

Removing a control panel does not disable the feature, it just keeps you from being able to change the settings. So, as others have said, restore the control panel, change the settings, and then you can remove it (or disable it in Extension Manager)

------------------
Chris Droessler
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
__________________
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sleep my Mac Muzoid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-31-2006 09:57 AM
sleep hkx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-18-2004 01:19 AM
Sleep OS X and .001 ? guitates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-08-2004 04:25 PM
Can't Sleep in OS X yardo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-21-2003 01:33 AM
Sleep JoeTools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-20-2003 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com