Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2012, 04:16 PM
tpann tpann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 64
Default ASIO4ALL and the PT10 Playback Engine

About a week ago I installed ASIO4ALL because I started getting that lovely "can't locate hardware" error from PT10.

ASIO4ALL immediately hijacked my Playback Engine. Meaning ASIO4ALL is now the only option listed playback engine. I was advised to go to Setup > Playback Engine and select Mbox from the drop-down. Well, there was no drop-down -- it just says "ASIO4ALL" up there where there should be a drop-down. This appears to be a relatively common problem. I uninstalled and reinstalled both ASIO4ALL and the Mbox drivers several times with no success.

I sent an email to Avid support asking them what I should do. They said, go get the Mbox drivers and install them. I said I already did, several times. They said uninstall them and reinstall them. Fine, I thought, that obviously will not work.

But it DID. Voila, there's "Mbox" in the Playback Engine drop-down.

The next day I fire up Pro Tools and once again, ASIO4ALL has hijacked the Playback Engine. No drop-down, no option to select Mbox. I had not changed anything.

So again I uninstall the Mbox drivers, then reinstall. Problem solved. Again. That was Friday. Saturday everything was still good. Yesterday, still good.

Today I fire up Pro Tools and guess what? You guessed it. No drop-down, ASIO4ALL has hijacked the playback engine.

I believe if I uninstall and reinstall the Mbox drivers, the problem will once again be fixed. But clearly it won't stay that way for long.

So what's going on? Why does a fix work for a day, and then stop working the next day? Then work for three days, then stop working again?

I do wonder if it's my PC, so here's a Sandra reports:

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : CLEVO CO. W150HNM/W170HN
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Supercomputer
User : Admin

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.20GHz
Speed : 2.2GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : CLEVO CO. W150HNM/W170HN
BIOS : Phoenix HR_2.1.0.128 X64 10/07/2011
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : No
Total Memory : 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Clevo Sandy Bridge DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 1x 169MHz (169MHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 1.13GHz (2.25GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Micron 16JTF51264HZ-1G4M1 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (10-10-10-27 5-37-11-6)
Memory Module : Micron 16JTF51264HZ-1G4M1 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (10-10-10-27 5-37-11-6)

Video System
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics Family (12 SM5.0 650MHz, 1GB DDR3 2x666MHz, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M (64SP 2C 1.34GHz, 993.6MB)
CUDA Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M (64SP 2C 1.34GHz, 993.6MB)
Compute Shader Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics Family (12SP 650MHz, 64MB 2x666MHz, Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
WDC WD5000BPKT-22PK4T0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (D:) (X:)
MAT[bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]ADVD-RAM UJ8B0 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
System : 100MB (NTFS)
SysImage (X:) : 66GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000BPKT-22PK4T0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
System (C:) : 200GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000BPKT-22PK4T0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Data (D:) : 200GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000BPKT-22PK4T0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ MAT[bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]ADVD-RAM UJ8B0 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Clevo Cougar Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond W83687THF
Audio Device : Clevo Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semiconductor High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : Clevo Cougar Point 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Clevo Standard SD Host Controller
USB Controller 1 : Clevo Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : Clevo Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 3 : Clevo uPD720200 USB 3.0 Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : JMicron PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
Wireless Adapter 1 : Realtek RTL8188CE Wireless LAN 802.11n COMBO PCI-E NIC (802.11g (ERP), AES-CCMP, 24Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : Off-Line
Battery No 1 : 47%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2012, 01:12 AM
Dadaist Dadaist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Uk
Posts: 3
Default Re: ASIO4ALL and the PT10 Playback Engine

I have the very same problem, but I'm sorry I have no answers either. It appears to be a semi common problem. I use my system for work, and have to move often and as soon as I use the asio driver I can no longer select the mbox..
I apologise for not being of any assistance, just know your not alone in this. If I find a solution I shall be of as much help to you as I can..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2012, 01:09 PM
SteveD@DAWPRO SteveD@DAWPRO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 56
Default Re: ASIO4ALL and the PT10 Playback Engine

ASIO4ALL installs and uninstalls so quickly I don't sweat it.

When I use external I/O hardware I take 2 seconds to uninstall ASIO4ALL.

When I'm back to a laptop and headphones... another 2 seconds to reinstall.

Not a big deal for me.
__________________
SteveD
www.DawPro.com

...addicted to gear
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2013, 01:24 AM
Sean Kenney Sean Kenney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: ASIO4ALL and the PT10 Playback Engine

This is so painful. Having to uninstall drivers everytime you go back and forth between Pro Tools and Daw's that have way less headaches.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2013, 02:16 AM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 645
Default Re: ASIO4ALL and the PT10 Playback Engine

Have you tried holding down the "n" key while Pro Tools is loading? This allows you to set the playback engine manually. Also did you try just using mbox drivers now without using asio4all? Uninstall asio and reinstall just the mbox drivers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Session opens in PT10 but not in PT11 - Playback Engine does not support... DC-Choppah Pro Tools 11 2 03-15-2014 03:07 PM
Playback Engine>Current Engine issue Hunterkiss macOS 0 06-28-2013 01:14 PM
No m-audio interface in current engine (playback engine) SlicerSounds Windows 1 10-04-2012 12:27 AM
Asio4all 88.2 playback issue benherron.rrr Windows 2 09-22-2012 10:32 AM
PT10 won't quit and playback engine panel weirdness SteveBoker macOS 0 10-22-2011 09:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com