Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2012, 07:34 AM
Wheeltard Wheeltard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Big Peach
Posts: 323
Default Playback Engine -- Where's my Disk Playback option?

When I go into set-up to start my session I don't see the option to disk cache. I have an iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core running 10.6.8 with 16 gig of RAM. Again, when I open the Playback Engine I don't have the ability to cache the playback like it says you can in the video tutorials about the cool PT10 features. It simply shows up like it did in PT 9. Any ideas?
Wheels
__________________
www.myspace.com/colmarkwheeler
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2012, 07:42 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,538
Default Re: Playback Engine -- Where's my Disk Playback option?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheeltard View Post
When I go into set-up to start my session I don't see the option to disk cache. I have an iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core running 10.6.8 with 16 gig of RAM. Again, when I open the Playback Engine I don't have the ability to cache the playback like it says you can in the video tutorials about the cool PT10 features. It simply shows up like it did in PT 9. Any ideas?
Wheels
Do you have PTHD10? Disk Cache is an HD feature.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2012, 07:55 AM
Wheeltard Wheeltard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Big Peach
Posts: 323
Default Re: Playback Engine -- Where's my Disk Playback option?

I wish there was an emoticon for an "ass." Because I feel like a braying Eeyore right now. Thanks for the clarification.
Wheels
__________________
www.myspace.com/colmarkwheeler
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:15 PM
barakka barakka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cheshire/UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Playback Engine -- Where's my Disk Playback option?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
Do you have PTHD10? Disk Cache is an HD feature.
HD or CPTK
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mock Turtle
“Reeling and Writhing, of course, to begin with, and then the different branches of arithmetic -- Ambition, Distraction, Uglification, and Derision."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2012, 08:49 AM
Ke productions Ke productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois, United States
Posts: 365
Default Re: Playback Engine -- Where's my Disk Playback option?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheeltard View Post
I wish there was an emoticon for an "ass." Because I feel like a braying Eeyore right now. Thanks for the clarification.
Wheels
If you purchase the complete production toolkit you'll have practically all the features of HD.
I did years ago and am so glad I did.
You can find it online, on ebay or even in the buy and sell section of the duc.
My friend purchased one from a guy who upgraded to hd. He got it for like a grand.
Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2012, 06:19 AM
lylesdonald lylesdonald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 45
Default Re: Playback Engine -- Where's my Disk Playback option?

CPTK is worth the money! Especially if your in post. Believe me, I'd be pulling my hair out without it.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad Core
OS 10.8.5
Digi 003
D-Command
PT 10.3.8 & PT 11 HD
Complete Production Toolkit

Credits http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1116719/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11 Limited Playback Engine Option Hadassah Pro Tools 11 1 12-18-2013 10:40 AM
Playback Engine keeps on forgetting my Duet USB Playback... plutopro Pro Tools 10 3 02-05-2013 12:42 PM
Playback engine refuses to give the option I need H-Bar macOS 1 12-06-2012 01:11 AM
Windows 7 64-bit PT 9.05 does not show Mbox 2 Mini as playback engine option brunorio Windows 4 09-14-2011 06:46 AM
8.0.3 and the plugin streaming option in playback engine... mykhal c 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-04-2010 06:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com