Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2017, 09:13 AM
zimmies zimmies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default CPU maxing out and audio drop out while using VI

I have a distinctive issue when using any VI within Pro Tools (all versions, 9, 10, 11 and now 12.82) even with only 1 VI (say mini Grand) and nothing else, when i play notes inevitably and repeatedly, my audio would cut off suddenly and then restore within 1 to 2 seconds which i believe also coincides with the master CPU meter showing 100% or close to 100% usage (in the red)
this on a 2011 iMac with a 4 core I7 processor through an UA Apollo 16. I have gone from Mountain Lion to Mavericks and now Sierra and still the same thing. All the UA drivers are up to date and it happens when i use a buffer from 32 all the way to 256 samples, above that i haven't really tried. This during live playing from an M-Audio Axiom 61 keyboard set on direct link.
nothing i have done (cleared out PT preferences) has done anything to alleviate this problem, does any one have any clues?
I cannot see how my OS, my PT software or the UA interface can suffer from this issue where no one else i know has ever experienced this issue. IS it possibly my iMac?
i am running 32GB of memory, before that i had 8GB and i also tried playing the CPU cores assignment, that did not work either

Last edited by zimmies; 11-16-2017 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2017, 12:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,029
Default Re: CPU maxing out and audio drop out while using VI

Session on a separate/approved hard drive?
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2017, 01:05 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,139
Default Re: CPU maxing out and audio drop out while using VI

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimmies View Post
I have a distinctive issue when using any VI within Pro Tools (all versions, 9, 10, 11 and now 12.82) even with only 1 VI (say mini Grand) and nothing else, when i play notes inevitably and repeatedly, my audio would cut off suddenly and then restore within 1 to 2 seconds which i believe also coincides with the master CPU meter showing 100% or close to 100% usage (in the red)
this on a 2011 iMac with a 4 core I7 processor through an UA Apollo 16. I have gone from Mountain Lion to Mavericks and now Sierra and still the same thing. All the UA drivers are up to date and it happens when i use a buffer from 32 all the way to 256 samples, above that i haven't really tried. This during live playing from an M-Audio Axiom 61 keyboard set on direct link.
nothing i have done (cleared out PT preferences) has done anything to alleviate this problem, does any one have any clues?
I cannot see how my OS, my PT software or the UA interface can suffer from this issue where no one else i know has ever experienced this issue. IS it possibly my iMac?
i am running 32GB of memory, before that i had 8GB and i also tried playing the CPU cores assignment, that did not work either
Could be your iMac. What do you have for a system drive? Please tell us it's not a Fusion drive as those are death to audio recording.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2017, 01:05 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,806
Default Re: CPU maxing out and audio drop out while using VI

And do you have a fusion drive inside the iMac or a 7200 rpm spinner or an SSD?

Great minds think alike Jack We posted at the exact same time.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2017, 06:06 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,139
Default Re: CPU maxing out and audio drop out while using VI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
And do you have a fusion drive inside the iMac or a 7200 rpm spinner or an SSD?

Great minds think alike Jack We posted at the exact same time.
Crazy ain't it?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Drop Out micr0n Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 07-13-2008 05:53 AM
Audio Drop outs and white noise on audio recordings. Ronny Milianowicz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 12 06-11-2008 01:48 PM
Audio MIDI Setup: Digidesign Audio Drop-down Item Disappears TonyPT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-15-2007 05:43 AM
Audio drop out Ping Pong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-25-2006 04:24 AM
Why does all audio drop out during recording? Rail Jon Rogut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-23-2003 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com