Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 02-12-2018, 07:49 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 560
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by fixxer49 View Post
Solved!
I've got things running pretty nicely now, I'm hiding/unhiding and edit window scrolling my little tush off, AND I've got 400+ tracks and quite a few active VEP instances.
My solution:
I removed ALL plugins from the Components (AU) plugin folder.

After removing all the AU plugs, VEP is no longer causing non-response or GUI lag issues!
Not a problem at all for me - I only use VST versions w/ VEP anyway.
Oh thanks. I never use AU either. Will try this. A leaner machine is always better imo
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-12-2018, 10:10 PM
sambosun sambosun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: World
Posts: 10
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Ok my guess would’ve been that some of your instances are coupled and the auto save feature in both stalls so you get the GUI hang.

What would happen if you put back all au components and uncheck the au plugins in the VEP preferences?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-13-2018, 07:16 AM
fixxer49 fixxer49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 43
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by sambosun View Post
Ok my guess would’ve been that some of your instances are coupled and the auto save feature in both stalls so you get the GUI hang.

What would happen if you put back all au components and uncheck the au plugins in the VEP preferences?
just an update:
VSL support has been in touch. they are aware of a bug in their hosting code which may be causing this. they also suspect that the problem may be specifically related to the AU WaveShell when i walked them through my personal troubleshooting steps to mitigate my issues.
they actually sent me a beta build for a new VEP6 update, which i may try.
But I'm not sure I'm going to be inclined to do anymore messing around with my system for a few days, tho. I'm just happy to be running smoothly again...
__________________


Last edited by fixxer49; 02-13-2018 at 07:18 AM. Reason: bolded text
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-13-2018, 10:29 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 992
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

One thing i hate about VEpro is the lack of a plugin manager and it forcing itself to use standard plugin install locations.

I only want to have a very specific subset of plugins to use in it, like kontakt and a few others.

It took an hour for it's first startup.. there is no way to disable plug in scans which it does automatically...

I can't even see a way to disable AU other than remove all the plugins from the components folder.. in the plugin preferences of Ve Pro all i see is which plugins are installed.. no way to disable them.

I hope i am wrong about this, and if so, how can it be altered? Much appreciated.

In any case, i have to have the quadrasid AU in there cause i turned it from a 32 bit to 64 bit with "32 lives!" from soundradix, and i use it in patchwork in PT but i would prefer to use it in VE Pro.. the vst when turned 64 bit crashes, only the au works, otherwise i'd just use the VST. Might try jbridge though for the vst and see how I go.

Let us know what VSL say to you if you don't mind... A very strange issue but we are all pretty sure now, that your graphics redraw issues ARE definitely in some way or another due to VSL communication plugin being in the PT project.. correct?
__________________
System 1: iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 32GBRam, 2TB Internal Apple HDD 7200 rpm, 256GB internal Apple SSD, TBolt 7200rpm G-Drive, Pro Tools 2018.3,, Cubase 9.5.2, UAD Apollo8 TBolt Quad x2, UAD satellite Octo TBolt x2, TBolt 512GB Lacie SSD, ATI 6970M
System 2: Macbook Pro Retina 2.8ghz i7 quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 16GB Apple Ram, 1TB Apple SSD, 1TB Thunderbolt SSD, Logic Pro 10.3.3, Cubase 9.5.2, Pro Tools 2018.4, Apollo Twin Duo, Nvidia 750M/Intel Iris Pro
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-13-2018, 10:44 AM
fixxer49 fixxer49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 43
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
One thing i hate about VEpro is the lack of a plugin manager and it forcing itself to use standard plugin install locations.

I only want to have a very specific subset of plugins to use in it, like kontakt and a few others.

It took an hour for it's first startup.. there is no way to disable plug in scans which it does automatically...

I can't even see a way to disable AU other than remove all the plugins from the components folder.. in the plugin preferences of Ve Pro all i see is which plugins are installed.. no way to disable them.

I hope i am wrong about this, and if so, how can it be altered? Much appreciated.

In any case, i have to have the quadrasid AU in there cause i turned it from a 32 bit to 64 bit with "32 lives!" from soundradix, and i use it in patchwork in PT but i would prefer to use it in VE Pro.. the vst when turned 64 bit crashes, only the au works, otherwise i'd just use the VST. Might try jbridge though for the vst and see how I go.

Let us know what VSL say to you if you don't mind... A very strange issue but we are all pretty sure now, that your graphics redraw issues ARE definitely in some way or another due to VSL communication plugin being in the PT project.. correct?
Correct -
1. Problem arose when VEP6 was in a session, and was not present when VEP6 was not in a session. So... VEP6 was main apparatus causing the problem.

Digging a bit deeper:
2. After identifying VEP6 as the cause, removing all plugins from the Components folder [i couldn't figure out how to disable AU in the VEP preferences either] solved the problem, even when VEP6 was added BACK into the session. I honestly can't tell you how in seven hells it occurred to me to clean out the AU folder, but I did. That being said, it may simply be one AU plugin that's causing it (VSL suspects it's the WaveShell component.)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-13-2018, 10:48 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 992
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Oh well, i was really hope i was wrong about the lack of plugin manager thing. Thanks for confirming everything overall..

i prefer AU's in general cause there is no need for a mono version or stereo like with VST2's..they are just one component for whatever channel count needed..

I'll remove waveshell and see how I go and do some ve pro stuff with a lot of AU's.. if it works ok i'll get back to you that it was indeed the waveshell.

I wouldn't mind using H reverb in ve pro so it doesn't take up the pro tools process space, as it's so heavy, but if vst waveshell works in ve pro then that's fine too :)
__________________
System 1: iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 32GBRam, 2TB Internal Apple HDD 7200 rpm, 256GB internal Apple SSD, TBolt 7200rpm G-Drive, Pro Tools 2018.3,, Cubase 9.5.2, UAD Apollo8 TBolt Quad x2, UAD satellite Octo TBolt x2, TBolt 512GB Lacie SSD, ATI 6970M
System 2: Macbook Pro Retina 2.8ghz i7 quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 16GB Apple Ram, 1TB Apple SSD, 1TB Thunderbolt SSD, Logic Pro 10.3.3, Cubase 9.5.2, Pro Tools 2018.4, Apollo Twin Duo, Nvidia 750M/Intel Iris Pro
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-13-2018, 11:26 AM
fixxer49 fixxer49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 43
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post

I wouldn't mind using H reverb in ve pro so it doesn't take up the pro tools process space, as it's so heavy, but if vst waveshell works in ve pro then that's fine too :)
Yup. At some point in the not so distant past, i noticed that VST Kontakt in VEP was a bit more RAM efficient than AU Kontakt. I just developed the habit of never using AU plugs in VEP, so you should be fine (and maybe even a little more RAM-efficient.) :)
__________________


Last edited by fixxer49; 02-13-2018 at 11:27 AM. Reason: RAM v. CPU
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-13-2018, 05:40 PM
moogboy100 moogboy100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 60
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Well I don't have VEP, and there is considerable lag, shown here between PT 2018.1 and 12.6.0

https://youtu.be/IQ__-jzeMYs
__________________
Pro Tools HD 2018.4
Mac Pro (2013) 6-Core
Focusrite Red 4Pre
Film/TV Music Editor
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-13-2018, 08:17 PM
khoop2112 khoop2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 161
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Screen scrolling is very zippy with 2018.1, but the edit window is much worse. Felt like 12.8.3 was much quicker. Not using for VI's.

10.12.6 - Mac Pro 6,1 (6 core 3.5ghz, 32 GB RAM, all SSD drives), HDX
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-14-2018, 07:20 AM
fixxer49 fixxer49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 43
Default Re: Anyone else with slow graphic redraws in 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
Oh well, i was really hope i was wrong about the lack of plugin manager thing. Thanks for confirming everything overall..

i prefer AU's in general cause there is no need for a mono version or stereo like with VST2's..they are just one component for whatever channel count needed..

I'll remove waveshell and see how I go and do some ve pro stuff with a lot of AU's.. if it works ok i'll get back to you that it was indeed the waveshell.

I wouldn't mind using H reverb in ve pro so it doesn't take up the pro tools process space, as it's so heavy, but if vst waveshell works in ve pro then that's fine too :)
another positive update: I installed the beta build that VSL sent me, and it seems like things are working ever better now. that means that good things are afoot with an official VEP update build. my troubleshooting career is over for the time being.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools HD 2018.1 - Preferences & I/o VERY slow to close DrFord Pro Tools 2018 4 01-26-2018 04:27 PM
Slow Screen Redraws when multiple plug-in windows open PatrickCusack Pro Tools 12 2 12-09-2017 05:05 AM
Half-arsed solution for slow screen redraws ecalcagnino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-08-2003 12:16 AM
Slow fades, redraws on NuBus PT3 Steve Cohn Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-12-2000 10:58 PM
Slow screen redraws with quicktime Xantar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-04-2000 04:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com