Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2018, 01:03 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 58
Default Quick lock channel to fader so it doesn’t bank

It would be great if there was a way to temporarily lock a channel to a certain fader, so that it doesn’t bank with the rest of the faders (then quickly unlock it when done). I think S6 has this option.

How else do people deal with, in a large session, quickly having to mix 2 faders against each other which are at opposite ends of the session?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2018, 12:14 PM
RogerPaolo RogerPaolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 33
Default Re: Quick lock channel to fader so it doesn’t bank

I would assign these 2 channels to 2 faders that are side by side in EUCONTROL. under the Assign tab, choose a fader, assign to a channel and it it's hard assigned to that channel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2018, 04:07 PM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 58
Default Re: Quick lock channel to fader so it doesn’t bank

I was hoping for something quick to assign from the desk without having to go into the software and use the mouse.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2018, 11:55 AM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 189
Default Re: Quick lock channel to fader so it doesn’t bank

Being able to create layouts directly from the S3 w/out using EuControl would be a great enhancement. A workflow could be something like

1) Select all of the tracks you want in your layout

2) hold down some combo of modifier keys on the S3

3) Press the layout button you want to assign those tracks to.

Any gaps in your selected tracks would be ignored and the selected tracks would populate the layout from the left most fader.

Inside EuControl the layout would be created and named automatically. If needed you could go in and rename/tweak at any time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2018, 07:22 AM
Macsearcher Macsearcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 152
Default Re: Quick lock channel to fader so it doesn’t bank

This sounds like it could potentially be simple to implement and man oh man, it would be a massive workflow enhancement.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shift + control + click on track name doesn't bank on 1st fader? Fish Horse Pro Tools | S3 23 11-20-2017 04:32 PM
WTB: D-Command ES Fader Bank drogan88 Buy & Sell 0 03-16-2015 07:48 AM
Can I lock a fader similar to ICON Focus Channel? macaholic Artist Series 1 12-15-2010 12:13 AM
Max Custom Fader Bank JKD99 ICON & C|24 6 11-23-2009 09:27 AM
> Fader Bank switching Howardk VENUE Live Sound Systems 12 09-22-2009 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com