Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2018, 08:11 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 556
Default Mapping two keys to same note

I use vmpk so I can map the midi notes of VI drums to my computer keyboard. I'm trying to figure out a way to assign two keys to one drum; I want each tom to have two keys so I can do more realistic rolls. However, the vmpk key mapper won't allow me to enter two different keys for one midi note. Does anyone know how I can do this or if it's even possible? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2018, 01:15 PM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 916
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

Might be easier mapping the same sound to two different keys?

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2018, 01:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,127
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

Not sure with keyboards, but this was easy to do on the M-Audio Trigger Finger(and it did make a huge difference in tapping in fills)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2018, 02:03 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,244
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
Might be easier mapping the same sound to two different keys?

Stephen
That would eat up another kit piece slot in whatever drum vi Adam is using. And depending on what that vi is he could easily run out of slots.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2018, 08:55 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 556
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
Might be easier mapping the same sound to two different keys?

Stephen
That's exactly what I'm trying to do.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2018, 03:36 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 916
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

What I mean is to have the same sound on two different keys rather than two different keys mapped to one sound.

For example, with a snare on D1 and a different snare on E1, change the sound of E1 to be the same sound as D1. Thus you can perform a roll using two keys.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2018, 05:02 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 556
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
What I mean is to have the same sound on two different keys rather than two different keys mapped to one sound.

For example, with a snare on D1 and a different snare on E1, change the sound of E1 to be the same sound as D1. Thus you can perform a roll using two keys.

Stephen
I'll have to go thru the different menus and find where I can make this change.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2018, 10:36 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,127
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

I'm not sure any keyboard allows for midi note assignment(other than the default). That's where a product like the Trigger Finger comes in as you have freedom to assign pads at will, so using 1 of the 5 "pages" of assignments to double-up the pads makes a ton of sense Once you've done that, you will never want to program drums from a keyboard again
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2018, 01:46 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,244
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I'm not sure any keyboard allows for midi note assignment(other than the default). That's where a product like the Trigger Finger comes in as you have freedom to assign pads at will, so using 1 of the 5 "pages" of assignments to double-up the pads makes a ton of sense Once you've done that, you will never want to program drums from a keyboard again
I get what you're saying but TF isn't needed here. It's not the keyboard that needs to be changed here but the drum vi in use. In BFD3 for example if there's an open kit piece slot for example you could put the same snare drum in another slot and assign that slot to whatever MIDI key you want to trigger it. That way you could have the same snare drum sound triggered by two different MIDI notes/keys.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2018, 09:30 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 556
Default Re: Mapping two keys to same note

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I get what you're saying but TF isn't needed here. It's not the keyboard that needs to be changed here but the drum vi in use. In BFD3 for example if there's an open kit piece slot for example you could put the same snare drum in another slot and assign that slot to whatever MIDI key you want to trigger it. That way you could have the same snare drum sound triggered by two different MIDI notes/keys.
This sounds like the correct move.. So I need to go into the preferences of my Drum VI (Audio Assault Westwood) and assign the same sample to two different MIDI notes.. and then assign those identical notes to two different keys in vmpk.

Hopefully the preferences for Westwood are fairly self explanatory, as it lacks a manual. Worst case I can always ask the developer.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mapping VMPK Keys to XPand2 adam79 Virtual Instruments 0 06-06-2017 03:35 PM
Pressed some keys now shortcut keys wont work (T,R to zoom etc) Falcon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 06-11-2016 11:49 AM
> Midi per note output mapping Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-28-2008 02:32 PM
Mapping Mapping Mapping! Please Digi, Hear Us... relaxo MIDI 0 11-03-2005 10:44 AM
off topic - MIDI note mapping questions davidp158 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-21-2003 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com