Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-15-2011, 03:33 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,943
Default Re: HD Core PCI-X in an i7 DAW

Quote:
Originally Posted by Third Eye Studios View Post
Were using PCIX cards in our i7 rig. Works flawlessly!!
Im running the same as third eye he helped me with my build and it works great now. One thing i will say make sure you get a quite an expensive power supply i had aload of issuses and problems which we narrowed down to the power supply. My computer tech made me buy one that was way more powerful and a lot more expensive and now everything is working great and no more errors

__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-18-2011, 09:09 PM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,183
Default Re: HD Core PCI-X in an i7 DAW

Great news guys - thanks With the price of accel cards now it is a no brainer. Plus I am running out of IO and need a card to slap my apogee onto and get my lynx on a card per box to avoid the latency issues it dishes out when not in standard mode.

appreciate it!
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON REVERBNATION

Monument Sound Fan Page

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-19-2011, 11:25 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 599
Default Re: HD Core PCI-X in an i7 DAW

HD4 in UD3l here as well. OSX runs ahem flawlessly on this board also...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-21-2011, 08:25 PM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,183
Default Re: HD Core PCI-X in an i7 DAW

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanc View Post
hd4 in ud3l here as well. Osx runs ahem flawlessly on this board also...
watch your mouth!!!!
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON REVERBNATION

Monument Sound Fan Page

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-12-2018, 11:34 AM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Studio
Posts: 99
Default Re: HD Core PCI-X in an i7 DAW

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifer View Post
Win 7 Pro 64
PT 10 HD, HD4 Accel
Jetway JNAF92-Q67
Intel 2700k 3.8ghz
16GB Crucial Ramcards
hey ,
still working with the daw described on quote ?
it is PT10 HD pci or pci-e ?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-21-2018, 11:05 AM
ddayson ddayson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: HD Core PCI-X in an i7 DAW

Hmmm, we're running three 3.4Ghz i7 Dual Threaded Quad Core (8 cores to PT HD), PC based PCIx HD4 systems with UAD-2 Octo cards, and they work great in our experience (PT HD 8.0.5/9.x).

Fast PC's with native PCI slots are harder to find, but still out there a while ago, and we used...

Motherboard:
JetWay JNAF93-Q77 LGA 1155 Intel Q77 - 4x native PCI slots, 3x PCIe slots

Processor:
Intel Core i7-3770 Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155

Memory:
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

Power supply:
CORSAIR CX series CX750 750W ATX12V / EPS12V

Case:
Rosewill Blackbone Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower (needs some internal trimming to fit all four PCI Cards, simple with Tin Snips).

OS:
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit - OEM

The builds cost about $1K each with HD's. These PT HD systems work great and have more power than we'll ever need, and we get around the 32 bit limitation with external PC VI Host(s). TDM has low latency for tracking, and the 8 Cores in addition to the HD/UAD-2 cards is more DSP than we'll ever use for music production.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Mac Mini Core i7 2GHz QUAD CORE - 4GB RAM - 2 x 500GB gsilbers Buy & Sell 3 05-18-2013 06:17 PM
HDX-2 on (slightly revised) 12-core 2 x 2.4GHz 6-core Intel? / RTAS in PT10HD MixerGuy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 06-18-2012 08:10 AM
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 08:33 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 03:24 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 04:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com