Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2002, 07:09 PM
robby robby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7
Default expansion chasis

ok Ive read hours worth of posts on mbox and laptops and 1 thing confused me. A post from a couple of months back said its pointless to use a laptop because an expansion chasis will cost another $1000.

but now that mbox is out my question is can i go get a ibook ($1294) and mbox($400)and not have to worry about buying anything else. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

thanks for helping the newbies out.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2002, 07:22 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,537
Default Re: expansion chasis

Yes. iBook + Mbox = All you need to get going.

Not to confuse things, but you may want to add an external hard drive at some point if you find you are not getting the track count that you need, but you may never need to add more than the iBook and the Mbox. I would highly recommend that you add more RAM than the 128 MB that the iBook may ship with. RAM is still relatively cheap, and an extra 128 MB, giving you 256 will make your whole system perform better, Pro Tools & other apps. You can either have the dealer include the extra RAM, or add it yourself for a lot less. It's not difficult at all, and folks here can help you with that.

The Magma expansion chassis [ www.magma.com ] adds PCI slots for PCI cards like the Digi 001 internal PCI card the connects to the breakout part of the Digi 001.

The Mbox is a single unit that connects to your USB port, so you don't need a PCI slot.

Take a look at the pictures in the Products section for a better idea of the individual components in each Pro Tools system.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
expansion chasis help? JT916 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 04-28-2004 09:57 AM
Expansion Chasis for HD5 jerrahi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-12-2002 06:33 AM
Expansion Chasis/ 32 bit or 64 bit? blairl Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-01-2002 07:02 AM
Expansion Chasis ratz Tips & Tricks 3 03-27-2001 05:29 AM
expansion chasis loutunes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-05-2000 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com