Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2020, 08:40 PM
DBK DBK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 252
Default Fresh PC Build - What do do in BIOS (for Pro Tools) once windows is installed

So, still waiting on my case but it should be here within the next day or 2 meaning my system should be built by Wednesday.

I've been watching a lot of videos and I'm pretty comfortable with the idea of assembling the actual PC now; but It's time to start considering what I should be doing after.

So...assuming everything powers up fine this will be my rough plan of what to do next, please correct me or give feedback if I'm mistaken. Keep in mind I'm coming from Mac and have NEVER worked in BIOS/UEFI before.
Also please correct the order of these steps if I'm mistaken.

1. Everything boots up to Bios, Windows Media thumb drive is plugged in.
2. Don't touch anything in BIOS yet, Perform a clean install of windows
3. Check for updates, update windows and all applicable updates it suggests
4. Get up to date drivers for all of my PC components
5. Reboot back to BIOS and do all of BIOS tweaking, this is where I need help. What specifically in Gigabyte BIOS should I be changing from Default?
6. Once Bios is set up, Install Pro Tools 2020
7. Connect my Audio Interface/Midi Keyboard/Adam A7X/Subpac and download all new drivers for each.
8. Optimize Windows For Pro Tools based on Avids Reccomendations
9. Install all of my AAX Plugins
10. Done?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2020, 08:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,254
Default Re: Fresh PC Build - What do do in BIOS (for Pro Tools) once windows is installed

The Pro Tools systems optimization steps have the key BIOS settings documented in them, c-state etc.

Disabling hypethreading settings is something you play with if needed.

You may be making stuff more complex than needed. Install Windows. Install systems drivers needed (do yourself for critical components, don't let Windows screw that for you, including your interface drivers). Install Pro Tools. Fully optimize the system. And test stuff works. If it does then install plugins and test as you go. Then other apps...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2020, 10:14 PM
DBK DBK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 252
Default Re: Fresh PC Build - What do do in BIOS (for Pro Tools) once windows is installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The Pro Tools systems optimization steps have the key BIOS settings documented in them, c-state etc.

Disabling hypethreading settings is something you play with if needed.

You may be making stuff more complex than needed. Install Windows. Install systems drivers needed (do yourself for critical components, don't let Windows screw that for you, including your interface drivers). Install Pro Tools. Fully optimize the system. And test stuff works. If it does then install plugins and test as you go. Then other apps...
At which point should I connect my system to the internet? Ive heard if its connected when windows is installed it may automatically download drivers I dont want? If thats the case, do I need to remove old drivers before installing new drivers or can I just install new drivers like the old ones arent there?

And yes, Im sure im making things more complicated haha. Waiting on the mail and all I can do is sit here and overthink.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2020, 10:41 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,254
Default Re: Fresh PC Build - What do do in BIOS (for Pro Tools) once windows is installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBK View Post
At which point should I connect my system to the internet? Ive heard if its connected when windows is installed it may automatically download drivers I dont want? If thats the case, do I need to remove old drivers before installing new drivers or can I just install new drivers like the old ones arent there?

And yes, Im sure im making things more complicated haha. Waiting on the mail and all I can do is sit here and overthink.
Asking questions, is great, and this is a good one, but you are now solidly in standard Windows territory and your question will be answered by a Google search.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2020, 06:29 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,787
Default Re: Fresh PC Build - What do do in BIOS (for Pro Tools) once windows is installed

Take boot drive images as you move along. Acronis or Macrium Reflect are popular choices. Keep notes of what gets changed between images. Also, Gigabyte has a method to backup all your Bios settings. Take your time and you'll be fine.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2020, 06:46 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,787
Default Re: Fresh PC Build - What do do in BIOS (for Pro Tools) once windows is installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBK View Post
... 5. Reboot back to BIOS and do all of BIOS tweaking, this is where I need help. What specifically in Gigabyte BIOS should I be changing from Default?...
Study the Gigabyte docs. Have you done a search for your specific motherboard BIOS settings? Check the ram speed settings in BIOS. Most other BIOS tweaks relate to CPU overclocking. Don't overclock. Get everything stable first, then perhaps later you can consider a gentle overclock.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2020, 10:08 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,412
Default Re: Fresh PC Build - What do do in BIOS (for Pro Tools) once windows is installed

Turn off C-State and Turbo Boost, those are the two for sure. Wireless and Bluetooth at first, you can try with one or both on once Pro Tools runs stable. You should be able to use XMP for your RAM. And you can also enable/disable Hyperthreading as Darryl suggested to see which is better for Pro Tools. Myself and others have also found it beneficial to set Processor Affinity for Pro Tools.

Once you've got the BIOS where you want it, copy the settings to a USB stick and other places.

As mentioned, image backups are a must. Personally I use Macrium Reflect and image nightly.

You can find more optimizations here.

Welcome to the ability to tinker.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play-Pause problems on fresh build of Mavs Picture Start Pro Tools 11 0 12-11-2014 06:32 PM
Pro Tools 10 Crashing on Startup on fresh install of windows ScottRamsay Windows 2 07-09-2012 03:59 AM
Help w/1st build - BIOS settings should be? JonReremy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-23-2009 07:56 AM
Hardware Dudes - Fresh Eyes on i7 Build Please? lowlights 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 10-06-2009 09:48 AM
Pro Tools wont boot after a fresh install of windows sammyfarr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-08-2008 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com