Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2021, 10:19 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 940
Default Best way to feed in DAT tapes with Digi hardware.

Hi all, terrifyingly I've been at this game since the early 90's now, & have a box full of DAT tapes that span from roughly 1992 to 1998.

After that I believe I gave up on DAT, & started streaming to a Mac via SPDIF running BIAS Peak to capture stereo masters for the next few years....ah, those were the days.

So my question, is what is the best way to feed these old DAT tapes into Pro Tools for archiving?

I've dusted off my old Sony 77ES machine, which I can connect via SPDIF out to either a 96 I/o unit on a Pro Tools 10HD rig, or an AVID HDI/O unit into a PT Ultimate setup

Should Pro Tools be taking its clock source from the DAT SPDIF input to ensure maximum fidelity ? Does it make any odds which rig I use? (i.e are the new interfaces any better clocking-wise if I'm just using a digital input)
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport

Last edited by Ru_C; 01-14-2021 at 10:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2021, 10:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,757
Default Re: Best way to feed in DAT tapes with Digi hardware.

As long as you get it connected, no digital is better than other. Purists may talk about jitter and such, but that is very small problem compared to your DAT tapes being worn and you may have dropouts every here and there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2021, 10:52 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 940
Default Re: Best way to feed in DAT tapes with Digi hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
As long as you get it connected, no digital is better than other. Purists may talk about jitter and such, but that is very small problem compared to your DAT tapes being worn and you may have dropouts every here and there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cool, yeah it was the jitter issue I was getting at.

Should I be clocking *from* the DAT machine in that case, or let the AVID interfaces do their re-clocking magic & clock internally?

Obviously the state of the tapes & player is another whole matter
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2021, 11:20 AM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Best way to feed in DAT tapes with Digi hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru_C View Post
Should I be clocking *from* the DAT machine in that case, or let the AVID interfaces do their re-clocking magic & clock internally?
You should be clocking from the DAT machine, or in other words the Pro Tools clock is set to "Digital". It is unlikely that this DAT machine can be clocked externally when playing, so it will need to be the clock when transferring.
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2021, 02:33 PM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 940
Default Re: Best way to feed in DAT tapes with Digi hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-tone View Post
you should be clocking from the dat machine, or in other words the pro tools clock is set to "digital". It is unlikely that this dat machine can be clocked externally when playing, so it will need to be the clock when transferring.
👍
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
feed back from digi 003 console richardmaxty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-21-2010 04:31 PM
RSS Feed??? i hear dead people Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-22-2007 07:33 AM
Hardware/ Software for ediing old tapes rgriff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-11-2004 12:03 PM
TASCAM Hardware surpassing Digi hardware jlee462 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-14-2003 03:22 PM
transfering old analog tapes to digi b mcgibney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-20-2002 09:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com