Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2020, 06:23 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 940
Default Merging/Chaining Projects with Tempo changes?

Ok, this is a bit of a strange one...

I have been given 6 very experimental pieces of music that all have multiple tempo/meter changes in them (like sometimes 30 tempo changes in 5 minutes....I know...who does that...).

They have both midi & audio, & are already in 6 separate Pro Tools sessions (via Logic)

I wish to combine them all in one project, which each piece of music placed after the one before, whilst keeping the Midi as well as the audio

Obviously it's straightforward to do this with purely the audio, as it can be bounced.

What I really need to do though, is keep all the tempo changes intact, so a 'bar is still a bar' in this strange world which I've been hired to deal with.

If I try & import song#2 to a location after song#1, the tempo info from song#1 is obliterated....short of recreating every tempo change manually (probably a days work), are there any ideas/solutions out there?

Cheers
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2020, 06:31 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,145
Default Re: Merging/Chaining Projects with Tempo changes?

Is there a specific reason why you need them all in the same session?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2020, 07:43 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 940
Default Re: Merging/Chaining Projects with Tempo changes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Is there a specific reason why you need them all in the same session?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There is unfortunately, or else it would be easier to keep them separate I agree..

..update..Logic Pro can do this it seems....

Workaround:

I've gone back to the original Logic sessions..then chained one song after another in Logic.....then exported AAF & Midi in PT
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2020, 09:40 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,656
Default Re: Merging/Chaining Projects with Tempo changes?

Hi,

I’m quite sure you can do this with import session data and define a session start point on the current timeline. I haven’t done this for a while but i think it would work for both audio and midi


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2020, 12:04 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,494
Default Re: Merging/Chaining Projects with Tempo changes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
I’m quite sure you can do this with import session data and define a session start point on the current timeline. I haven’t done this for a while but i think it would work for both audio and midi.
Yeah you're supposed to be able to do it, but it doesn't seem to work for me. It always moves the session start to the new file location and screws up all the tempo and time changes of the original session. I've tried it using different options but never have gotten it work work right so I gave up and used a workaround. Not sure if I'm just missing something or if it's broken.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2020, 02:44 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 940
Default Re: Merging/Chaining Projects with Tempo changes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
Yeah you're supposed to be able to do it, but it doesn't seem to work for me. It always moves the session start to the new file location and screws up all the tempo and time changes of the original session. I've tried it using different options but never have gotten it work work right so I gave up and used a workaround. Not sure if I'm just missing something or if it's broken.
Yeah, that's exactly what happens..I spent an hour or so trying to get to work..would like to hear from AVID if its a bug or intended behaviour..
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to create any Projects (3 of 3 Projects | max reached | 0% Storage used) clusterer Avid Cloud Collaboration 15 04-07-2016 02:05 AM
Merging Projects & Shifting Entire Sessions Along Timeline zsarbomba Pro Tools 10 4 02-05-2013 10:25 PM
merging audio ScorePerfect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-24-2007 03:15 PM
Merging an OMF Peter Groom Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-15-2006 08:20 PM
Merging Midi? Dopamine MIDI 1 06-17-2004 05:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com