Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2021, 08:24 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,097
Default Time for a new machine?

My trusty, super pimped out 2010 Cheese Grater is becoming a money pit. Parts are getting expensive. It's on its 2nd 580 graphics card in a year. And I believe that (non OEM) card is not letting me install firmware to upgrade to High Sierra. I'm paying yearly for HDX, but I can't even use it past 2019.6 or so. I'm spending lots to tread water.

I know I can try to find an old Apple GPU card and hope that's the issue. I've spent almost 700 on graphics cards in a year (which worries me the machine is having issues). Between that and Digi WUP, I feel that money should probably go towards newer tech.

But with Apple's chip architecture changing, I'd rather wait to get a "new" machine for a year or 2. I have tons of drives and peripherals. Is a 2012 grater with High Sierra my best option for now? Trash can plus a million chassis? I haven't pondered these things in a decade. So I feel a bit lost as to which my most prudent move is.

Anyone have a similar dilemma?
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2021, 08:38 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 375
Default Re: Time for a new machine?

You should absolutely be able to upgrade your current configuration. Also running Mid 2010 Mac Pro here on Mojave, HDX and PTU 2020.11.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2021, 09:07 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,097
Default Re: Time for a new machine?

the problem is that, for some reason, I cannot upgrade the firmware. most likely due (so I've read) to the fact I don't have an Apple video card in the machine. I don't have one anymore. It died a decade ago. So I will have to buy an old card and hope that is indeed the issue. If not, I've sunk more money into crap. Did you upgrade to Mojave with a non flashed or Apple card?
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2021, 09:20 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,883
Default Re: Time for a new machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
... hope that's the issue...
My Windows self-build desktop was acting a bit wonky several months ago. It worked, but would intermittently throw a BSOD and also some internal fans were not always spinning. I suspected the 9 year old PSU might be dying, so I replaced it with a new top-of-the-line PSU. My issues were all fixed!!!

Perhaps your PSU is dying?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2021, 11:21 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 275
Default Time for a new machine?

Hey Brian, I recently took the plunge and got a Mac Mini 2018 3.2Ghz with 64GB ram with the avid 1U HDX enclosure.

It totally smokes my old 2010 cheesegrater (which like you I have thrown a load of money at: NVMe SSD, RX580 etc etc)

I figure, get a Mac mini now for a reasonable about of money, spend on external drives and enclosures (I’m still using my RX580 in a sonnet breakout box along with the Avid 1U enclosure) and sit tight until the ARM chips are ready to go where I will hopefully only have to spend another £1,500 or so to just swap Mac mini’s.

Yes you’ll have to get a belkin dock or something and a new plug board (I now have 6 power leads instead of 1!!!!) but you’ll feel good knowing you’re safe for the next few years.

Best wishes,
James
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 512GB Samsung SSD Audio Drive (temporary) | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2021, 05:10 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 992
Default Re: Time for a new machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
the problem is that, for some reason, I cannot upgrade the firmware. most likely due (so I've read) to the fact I don't have an Apple video card in the machine. I don't have one anymore. It died a decade ago. So I will have to buy an old card and hope that is indeed the issue. If not, I've sunk more money into crap. Did you upgrade to Mojave with a non flashed or Apple card?
This is a pain, yes you need the original GPU in there to upgrade the firmware, before you can upgrade to Mojave (which ironically has better support for the newer AMD GPUs). Perhaps you can borrow one? On the off chance you are in Melbourne, you can borrow mine.

I upgraded to a 2019 Mac Pro, which will hopefully last the next ten years. I'm sure the ARM Mac Pro will smoke it but, realistically it's going to be a couple of years before it is out and supported by HDX, plugins, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2021, 10:52 PM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,097
Default Re: Time for a new machine?

Thanks for this. So if I went the Mac mini route...

I’d need the mini. And some sort of chassis for the Hdx. I use 2 monitors (a 27 And a slate Raven.) Would I need my 580 GPU in a chassis for this? I use 8tb record drives and 6 TB sample drives daily. I guess I’d need some enclosure for all those? I use 3 or 4 USB 3 powered hubs for dongles, keyboards etc.

Would your setup suite that?

Thanks for your input.



Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
Hey Brian, I recently took the plunge and got a Mac Mini 2018 3.2Ghz with 64GB ram with the avid 1U HDX enclosure.

It totally smokes my old 2010 cheesegrater (which like you I have thrown a load of money at: NVMe SSD, RX580 etc etc)

I figure, get a Mac mini now for a reasonable about of money, spend on external drives and enclosures (I’m still using my RX580 in a sonnet breakout box along with the Avid 1U enclosure) and sit tight until the ARM chips are ready to go where I will hopefully only have to spend another £1,500 or so to just swap Mac mini’s.

Yes you’ll have to get a belkin dock or something and a new plug board (I now have 6 power leads instead of 1!!!!) but you’ll feel good knowing you’re safe for the next few years.

Best wishes,
James
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2021, 12:58 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,533
Default Re: Time for a new machine?

One thing about the mac mini; Bluetooth problems. Mac Minis 2018 and later have serious problems with bluetooth, it's all over the net. And people are reporting that it has not been solved in the M1 mini.
In short, my MM behaves like this: if I have only the screen connected and I don't sit very far from the mini, my bluetooth mouse and keyboard works OK. As I begin to connect stuff to thunderbolt and USB ports, I get more and more erratic behaviour and connection dropouts with BT, and shorter and shorter range.
I've tried everything including changing radio frequencies and using 3rd party BT dongles, with no solution. I agree with those who say that it's simply a design flaw. They crammed too many powerful ports around the BT antenna. I've got it functional now by using only one thunderbolt and one USB port, and making shure there are no physical objects blocking.
Of course, if you can use hardwired keyboard/mice there is no problem and the minis are great machines.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2021, 08:31 AM
tonejunkee tonejunkee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Default Re: Time for a new machine?

I too am in this situation - although I'm still running a 2011 MBP, it has had 3 identical display chip problems. Not sure when the new 16" comes out but it seems smart to wait to see how it does with PT
__________________
2011 MBP running PT 12.7.1
2.3 Ghz Intel Core i7
16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3

Noise Buffet
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-14-2021, 11:08 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 940
Default Re: Time for a new machine?

Was caught in a similar predicament a few months ago.

I had three Mac 5.1 rigs, two running Mojave and my main one still on Mavericks running PT10HD.

Anyway, my main Mac died, & after much debating I built a mid-range Hackintosh tower running PT Ultimate under Catalina with an HDnative PCie card in it.

I figured it was the worst time to be buying new intel hardware (with the Apple Silicon transition on the horizon), so this setup should see me through until 2023 or so at the very least. Its been a very solid performer so far & cost under £1000
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine w/PT? Steven O'Neill macOS 5 05-12-2013 01:34 PM
Time Machine juca2929 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-24-2009 07:14 PM
PT7.4.2 vs Time Machine technomorph 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-04-2008 10:12 AM
PT7.4.2 vs Time Machine technomorph 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-03-2008 07:58 PM
Time machine Geenome20 Virtual Instruments 3 03-22-2007 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com