Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 09-28-2020, 09:55 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I have the same 10-core custom trashcan as you have, except mine has 64GB memory and 2TB storage. No heat issues here so it must be a software thing.
That's encouraging to know. I HAVE looked at the logs after a freeze and I see plenty of 'Burning Processor' entries. I may as well bite the bullet and upgrade to Catalina and the latest version of PT..I don't know what it is, but it'll be in my account...at least then I can have a smoother 'transition' if I decide to go with a new Mac Pro.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 09-28-2020, 10:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,846
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
That's encouraging to know. I HAVE looked at the logs after a freeze and I see plenty of 'Burning Processor' entries. I may as well bite the bullet and upgrade to Catalina and the latest version of PT..I don't know what it is, but it'll be in my account...at least then I can have a smoother 'transition' if I decide to go with a new Mac Pro.
But don't in-situ upgrade... try out Catalina and 2020.x on a new macOS install, ideally you have space for an extra APFS container on the internal drive. Just see how it behaves as a test. Getting past 2019.5 was a big thing for some users with CPU stability, and for me with some plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 09-29-2020, 12:48 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
But don't in-situ upgrade... try out Catalina and 2020.x on a new macOS install, ideally you have space for an extra APFS container on the internal drive. Just see how it behaves as a test. Getting past 2019.5 was a big thing for some users with CPU stability, and for me with some plugins.
Got it. I've got an external TB 4-drive bay with 4 1 TB SSD's. 1 drive has the OS, and 2 have data, the 3rd is for a second OS...I'll be updating that one.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 10-10-2020, 06:50 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
But don't in-situ upgrade... try out Catalina and 2020.x on a new macOS install, ideally you have space for an extra APFS container on the internal drive. Just see how it behaves as a test. Getting past 2019.5 was a big thing for some users with CPU stability, and for me with some plugins.
I don't want to hit this thread with any more of these my puter's broke posts, so I'll start a new one. Maybe I can get this sorted out with a little more help.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 11-14-2020, 04:49 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 237
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The new Mac Pro are very nice. I played enough to feel like I would really like one but like != justify. I primarily use a Macbook Pro, so it's an additional cost. If I was having issues now that affected business and I could pay back in ~3 years I would get one. Otherwise... what's the current issue with your Mac Pro trashcan? Can you improve that?

Are you really on Pro Tools 12.x still? Are you seeing CPU issues? Have you tried 2019.5 or later with the AAE performance improvements?
Which MacBook Pro are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 11-14-2020, 05:02 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,846
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimothyJohn View Post
Which MacBook Pro are you using?
15" 2019, 8 core, 32GB everything maxed out except only 2TB internal SSD. I would have purchased the later 16" (64 GB and better keyboard) if it was an option when I purchased this one.

But what does it matter what I'm using exactly... high config MBP are very well regarded and used lots by folks on DUC... if you need/want a laptop. But all depends on what you need. There are sure are lots of high end workloads that won't run on this MBP, not with it's 32GB or memory or likely thermal issues if stressing it really hard.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-14-2020 at 05:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 11-14-2020, 07:54 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 237
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
15" 2019, 8 core, 32GB everything maxed out except only 2TB internal SSD. I would have purchased the later 16" (64 GB and better keyboard) if it was an option when I purchased this one.

But what does it matter what I'm using exactly... high config MBP are very well regarded and used lots by folks on DUC... if you need/want a laptop. But all depends on what you need. There are sure are lots of high end workloads that won't run on this MBP, not with it's 32GB or memory or likely thermal issues if stressing it really hard.
Appreciate your insight. Heat and fan noise are a huge consideration for me. I do a ton of music and also light video work. I'd even go with a 6 core i7 16" if I knew that it helped with heat issues. But Pro Tools gets most of my work. Live recording; wav files imported from field recordings, occasional VI's; and of course mixing. I'll be working in UA SHARC Processors as well; either with a thunderbolt satellite, or an Apollo interface of some sort. I prefer UA, and am quite comfortable using them at this point.

So it looks like I'm going for the Intel 16" definitely. Unless a 2019 15" comes up on Apple's refurb site. And I'd be happy with 32gb RAM and a 2TB drive.

My wife on the other hand, will be getting the new M1 ARM MacBook Air. The price is so compelling! I have a feeling that in a year or two, Pro Tools will be humming with a second generation of these M1 ARMS... I'm looking forward to the upcoming reviews. The deal killer for me is 16gb RAM and only two thunderbolt ports. (And I agree, probably only one bus).

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 11-14-2020, 11:15 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,846
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Hope it works well for you. I mostly sit the MBP on a Rain Design stand next to an LG UltraFine monitor and think the stand helps cooling but generally don't have a problem with fan noise ever. And I leave the lid open to help with cooling. But then I don't work with video. Even if the fan kicks in I don't find it too annoying. I suspect there is also something better with the airflow design of these MBP, e.g. many years ago my 17" MBP ran warm and would annoy me if it's fans kicked in hard, they were less white noise sounding than these modern fans.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 11-18-2020, 05:00 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 940
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimothyJohn View Post
Appreciate your insight. Heat and fan noise are a huge consideration for me. I do a ton of music and also light video work. I'd even go with a 6 core i7 16" if I knew that it helped with heat issues. But Pro Tools gets most of my work. Live recording; wav files imported from field recordings, occasional VI's; and of course mixing. I'll be working in UA SHARC Processors as well; either with a thunderbolt satellite, or an Apollo interface of some sort. I prefer UA, and am quite comfortable using them at this point.

So it looks like I'm going for the Intel 16" definitely. Unless a 2019 15" comes up on Apple's refurb site. And I'd be happy with 32gb RAM and a 2TB drive.

My wife on the other hand, will be getting the new M1 ARM MacBook Air. The price is so compelling! I have a feeling that in a year or two, Pro Tools will be humming with a second generation of these M1 ARMS... I'm looking forward to the upcoming reviews. The deal killer for me is 16gb RAM and only two thunderbolt ports. (And I agree, probably only one bus).

Thanks!!
Check out this thread . A GS user has got Pro Tools running under Rosetta 2.

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/new-...20-11-a-6.html
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 11-18-2020, 01:27 PM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 215
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

That is shockingly impressive.

I have a 16" 8-core i9 MBP - 32GB RAM - 1TB SSD. I use it in clamshell mode on a stand with the TurboBoostPro app disabling TurboBoost which keeps the fans from kicking on (mostly) w/o a noticeable performance hit (in my experience).

I would be seriously tempted by the M1 MacBook Air if I could get similar performance. Damn.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------
2019 MacBook Pro 16 - 8-core i9 -32GB RAM - 1TB SSD.
PT 2020.12 Native.
Life is like an Analogy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Macintosh Audio JoeyBoomBox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-21-2007 11:41 PM
macintosh processors... pinstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-10-2005 01:37 PM
macintosh processors... pinstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-10-2005 11:14 AM
MacIntosh Plus??? j old school 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 08-29-2002 08:57 AM
Macintosh USB Audio In N9YTY Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-13-2001 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com