Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2003, 11:45 AM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 625
Default rename file

I am recording my mix on a stereo track into protools and when I double click the file it will not let me rename the disc file name as well as the playlist name? There are no other files with this name so its not a variation of the original. Also it doesn't exhist anywhere else on the hardrive.
__________________
10.15.7 (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.11

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2003, 12:01 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 625
Default Re: rename file

Ok so I did an undo on the track and re recorded the mix and I double clicked on the file and it let me name the Region and the disc file. Is this a bug?
__________________
10.15.7 (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.11

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2003, 12:21 PM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: rename file

If you make any kind of edit - it’s no longer the disc file, it’s a region (from the disc file). Consolidating the region will give you a fresh new disc file you can then rename.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2003, 12:28 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 625
Default Re: rename file

Bassmac,
thanks but I didnt do any edits at all. As soon as it was done I tried renaming the file. This has been happening alot lately.
__________________
10.15.7 (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.11

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2003, 12:45 PM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: rename file

well, keep in mind that even trimming a region 1 sample is an edit - try using the grabber to double click in the region - other than that, not to sure...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2003, 12:47 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,304
Default Re: rename file

Uncheck "quickpunch"
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2003, 01:13 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 625
Default Re: rename file

Ok the quick punch thing made me think it might have to do with that. I have been listening to the mix in input only moniter while quickpunch is on. I think that after a few listens I record the mix and it actually prints a few files instead of the one that was actually in record. I shut off quick punch and recorded the mix and I can now rename the disc file. Does this theory make sense?
__________________
10.15.7 (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.11

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2003, 01:24 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,304
Default Re: rename file

Quickpunch records regions. The file starts the moment you hit play.
In quickpunch, if you hit play for 5 minutes, then hit record for 5 seconds, the recording is 5 minutes and 5 seconds long. The region is only 5 seconds long!!!

__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2003, 01:29 PM
parak parak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 104
Default Re: rename file

This actually happened to me the other day too. Quickpunch was not on. Bounce file, double click with grabber, can only name the region. The file in the region list is in bold, but I can only rename the region there too.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2003, 01:40 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 625
Default Re: rename file

I know exactly what quick punch does. The question is you are in quick punch and input only moniter to hear your mix. You listen a few times without even hitting record. Then you say ok I will print. Now you hit record. Hit stop. Now you have 1 region in the playlist. I now double click with the grabber to rename the file to get rid of the extra chud on the end of it. It will not let me name the disc file and region file. So why does it do this?
__________________
10.15.7 (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.11

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to rename disk file googs macOS 0 08-21-2012 12:16 PM
Rename Audio Region and File - where go? smc917 macOS 2 09-16-2011 09:54 AM
file rename after the fact? GloryIsSilent Tips & Tricks 5 06-09-2010 03:00 AM
How To Rename Session file to work on PC? lowaters 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-27-2004 09:08 PM
can't duplicate/rename file bluemt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-13-2001 01:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com