Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2020, 06:17 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 949
Default AES other than 8x8x8???

Hey are there any current Avid interfaces which have multi AES I/O other than the 8x8x8? Not seeing any on the MTRX Studio.

Thanks!!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2020, 07:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,060
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armando View Post
Hey are there any current Avid interfaces which have multi AES I/O other than the 8x8x8? Not seeing any on the MTRX Studio.

Thanks!!
Avid HD can take second digital card for 16 i/o per box
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2020, 07:33 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 949
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Avid HD can take second digital card for 16 i/o per box
Isn’t the 8x8x8 the Avid HD??
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2020, 07:46 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,060
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armando View Post
Isn’t the 8x8x8 the Avid HD??
Yes that it is, but 8x8x8 means three slots are used (8 analog in, 8 analog out, 8 digital i/o) but there is fourth slot left and you can install another digital card if you want to
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2020, 10:01 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 949
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes that it is, but 8x8x8 means three slots are used (8 analog in, 8 analog out, 8 digital i/o) but there is fourth slot left and you can install another digital card if you want to
Thanks! I’m surprised Avid’s newer interfaces like the MTRX Studio and even Carbon don’t use AES.
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2020, 10:11 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,060
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

MTRX is DAD product. It has other advances


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2020, 10:24 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,487
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

There's a Digital HD IO and the old 192 Digital also fits the bill(and is dirt cheap these days)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2020, 10:40 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 949
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
There's a Digital HD IO and the old 192 Digital also fits the bill(and is dirt cheap these days)
Question; does the newer MTRX Studio work with the older 192 I/O/Avid HD?
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2020, 01:17 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,711
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armando View Post
Question; does the newer MTRX Studio work with the older 192 I/O/Avid HD?
Why not? All you need is to connect a secondary DigiLink port to the 192 Digital IO.
If you need only 2 AES channels, the Dante AVIO AES3 will be a cheaper option.
It does require a gentle care though as my adapter stopped working after two weeks of use.
If you need 4 Channels of AES a Tascam AE-4D could be an option, though I didn't try it myself.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.12 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2020, 02:13 PM
B-Grade B-Grade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 138
Default Re: AES other than 8x8x8???

I had a similar issue and bought two of the Adinate AES AVIO units. Pretty inexpensive at $115, and the AES goes into the Dante network. They work very well with a fixed 1ms latency.
__________________
Mac 5,1 12-core Mojave
PT 2020.9.1
HDX - MTRX Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD I/O 8x8x8 For Sale trackone Buy & Sell 0 07-07-2018 04:22 PM
FA: New HD I/O 8x8x8 asm Buy & Sell 15 08-09-2014 09:27 PM
Omni vs. 8x8x8 cablet Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 09-03-2012 03:10 PM
HD I/O 8x8x8 Q roberts Pro Tools 10 0 10-24-2011 02:36 PM
HD I/O 8x8x8 ejwells Tips & Tricks 3 10-05-2011 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com