Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2011, 11:22 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default HD I/O 8x8x8

Can someone clear this up for me.
There are two DB25 input ports on my 8x8x8.
One is for +4db balanced, the other is for -10db balanced.
I was always under the impression that most mid-high quality preamps should be run at +4, but I've just heard conflicing info.
I thought +4 is for pro gear, and that -10 is for older/more consumer oriented gear.
Any help/words of wisdom and experience?
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2011, 02:30 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,487
Default Re: HD I/O 8x8x8

I have always operated under that exact assumption(and have yet to find a reason to change). I would go with the +4 connections until you find yourself cranking gains up too high on your preamps feeding the IO BTW, much jealousy here
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2011, 02:41 PM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: HD I/O 8x8x8

Dave-

Thanks for that. Emailed you to babble further...........................
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2011, 04:49 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: HD I/O 8x8x8

or use the -10 in's for keyboard/synth modules
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FA: New HD I/O 8x8x8 asm Buy & Sell 15 08-09-2014 09:27 PM
HD IO 8x8x8 or Symphony I/O 8x8? IVcrane Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 03-19-2014 08:18 PM
FS: Avid HD I/O 8x8x8 Rick Breen Buy & Sell 7 03-05-2014 08:15 PM
HD I/O 8x8x8 connection? CLASS-A-DUDI TAMIR macOS 2 02-11-2012 04:25 AM
HD I/O 8x8x8 Q roberts Pro Tools 10 0 10-24-2011 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com