Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:21 PM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 77
Default PTLE 7.3.1cs4 crashing when launched

Hello all,
I just recently purchased a digi 003 factory edition so that I can start doing some work at home. So far, I am having the most unpleasant time with this unit. I can never get PT to launch correctly without having errors. The 3 most common errors I get is,
- "PT cannot set sample rate to specified value"
-"Access violation occured"
- and for some odd reason when PT does launch I get" PT cannot reaccquire the hardware because another program is using it. Quit the program so that the hardware can be freed" even though there is absolutely no programs running besides PT.

As you notice I've been getting no sleep due to this problem. Once in a blue moon, PT happens to launch. I then quit PT and relaunch it again just to test it, and again, I start from ground zero. I get "PT cannot set sample rate to specified value" and the "Access violation occured" error. It's literally driving me nuts.

I have a PC, Asus motherboard, 975x chipset, no RAID configuration, dedicated digidesign approved firewire card(Sig pci 3 port), dedicated Radeon video card, Intel core 2 duo running at 2.66ghz, and 2gb of ram. I'm pretty knowledgeable with PCs and I built that one. I went to digidesign website and applied all the suggestions they had, including trashing the preferences and disabling hardware drivers. I even called tech support and everything they know, I already know, so the conversation wasn't really productive.

I am truly sorry for this long post, but I need to vent. I'm curious if anybody out there has a 003 factory edition and is encountering this problem, whether on a PC or a MAC. Also, since the 003 factory is a new unit, are these errors inevitable. I just have a funny feeling there won't be this much hassle on a MAC.

Again, I greatly appreciate any response, suggestions, or even sympathy who are battling this issue. Once again, thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:21 PM
shagnwagn shagnwagn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: PTLE 7.3.1cs4 crashing when launched

I'm in the same boat and it's driving me insane. I spent most of my holidays trying to get my latest song to open up. What a waste!

All I keep getting is the Access Violation Occurred error! I'm pissed!

I have tried so many things. Different versions of PT LE, deleting plugs, changing hard drives, re-configuring Windows XP Pro, older versions of the song, changing the HW Buffer Size before opening the file, and the list goes on. I'm furious!!!

Hoping someone can help us out!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2007, 03:00 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Default Re: PTLE 7.3.1cs4 crashing when launched

Quote:
I went to digidesign website and applied all the suggestions they had, including trashing the preferences and disabling hardware drivers.
Can you be more specific about which troubleshooting steps you've taken? Also, can you please post a Sandra or PC Wizard report, as indicated in those troubleshooting threads?

Quote:

I even called tech support and everything they know, I already know, so the conversation wasn't really productive.
Can you tell me which date you spoke to a tech? I'd like to look up the call and see if there's anything that may have been overlooked.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2007, 03:02 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Default Re: PTLE 7.3.1cs4 crashing when launched

One big cause for access violations is using incompatible, unauthorized or outdated plug-ins. Might this be the case? If you remove all the plug-ins from your plug-ins folder, does Pro Tools launch?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2007, 03:04 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Default Re: PTLE 7.3.1cs4 crashing when launched

Quote:
I'm in the same boat and it's driving me insane. I spent most of my holidays trying to get my latest song to open up. What a waste!

All I keep getting is the Access Violation Occurred error! I'm pissed!

I have tried so many things. Different versions of PT LE, deleting plugs, changing hard drives, re-configuring Windows XP Pro, older versions of the song, changing the HW Buffer Size before opening the file, and the list goes on. I'm furious!!!

Hoping someone can help us out!
You should start with the steps in the Win XP/ Pro Tools 6.x/7.x General Troubleshooting thread and post specific info on your system per the info on that thread if you're unable to resolve the problem.

You may want to look at the Help us help you thread as well.

If you've already done this, please be SPECIFIC about what you have or have not tried and please post a Sandra or PC Wizard report as indicated in the troubleshooting thread. Really. We need that info. We're not kidding.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools LE 8.0.4 crashing when launched on Mac Pro banjobach 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-04-2010 01:11 PM
Sampletank 2.5 is out. but still crashing in 7.3.1cs4 crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 09-13-2007 07:44 AM
Protools 7.3.1cs4 Crashing on Moving or copying regions ging28 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-03-2007 10:23 AM
PTLE 6.7 restarts windows when launched elv1s1sal1ve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-03-2005 05:17 PM
Help! New PC crashes when PTLE launched! shacke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-24-2005 03:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com