Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-27-2021, 06:03 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,513
Default Re: Half speed recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTGraham View Post
It does the same thing to the audio, but it doesn't affect the source performance the same way.
Not true - it's exactly the same as 1/2 Speed Record.

Enable Varispeed on all your tracks, cut the tempo in half, record your audio, then set the tempo back to normal. Works perfectly for me and no clicks.

The tracks should all be set to tick-based for it to change the speed and pitch.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-27-2021, 07:17 PM
RTGraham RTGraham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 48
Default Re: Half speed recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
Not true - it's exactly the same as 1/2 Speed Record.

Enable Varispeed on all your tracks, cut the tempo in half, record your audio, then set the tempo back to normal. Works perfectly for me and no clicks.

The tracks should all be set to tick-based for it to change the speed and pitch.
Ah. Got it. Yes, that would have the same overall result.
There are circumstances where it won't yield exactly the same workflow - i.e. if you have tracks in your session that already depend on being in a different elastic mode - and it's WAY more steps than just hitting shift-command-spacebar, but it'll get it done as a comparatively cumbersome workaround.

Still doesn't make a whole lot of sense, though, that the shortcut method (shift-command-spacebar) used to be clean all the time and now we're seeing more and more people who wind up with clicks in their audio that way.
I've gotten the clicks too - only recently - but intermittently.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-27-2021, 07:39 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,885
Default Re: Half speed recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Wow ... can’t fathom WHY someone would spend actual time uploading something that useless .. youtube ... thats where you’ll find those ppl
Well geez...I hope you don't watch any of my Ewe Toobe videoz then...
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-27-2021, 11:56 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,421
Default Re: Half speed recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Well geez...I hope you don't watch any of my Ewe Toobe videoz then...
I mean people uploading Dolly Parton halfspeed and double speed and such hahaha Probably not what You do

Seen your website and it looks great
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-28-2021, 06:35 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 810
Default Re: Half speed recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
You could record at regular speed and then use Elastic Audio to pitch the octave up
Haven't always been 100% happy with EA. I do use it sometimes, but I prefer Elastique Pitch V2 by zplane.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-28-2021, 04:14 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,513
Default Re: Half speed recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTGraham View Post
There are circumstances where it won't yield exactly the same workflow - i.e. if you have tracks in your session that already depend on being in a different elastic mode - and it's WAY more steps than just hitting shift-command-spacebar, but it'll get it done as a comparatively cumbersome workaround.

Still doesn't make a whole lot of sense, though, that the shortcut method (shift-command-spacebar) used to be clean all the time and now we're seeing more and more people who wind up with clicks in their audio that way.
True, and it's too bad the half-speed record function was broken. I don't usually work with tracks in EA mode if I can help it so it's not too big a deal for me, but then I don't need to half-speed record that often either.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-28-2021, 07:54 PM
RTGraham RTGraham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 48
Default Re: Half speed recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
True, and it's too bad the half-speed record function was broken. I don't usually work with tracks in EA mode if I can help it so it's not too big a deal for me, but then I don't need to half-speed record that often either.
I hear ya. I only enable Elastic Audio on tracks in a session if I absolutely have to.
Having EA tracks is still, to this day, one of the things that increases the frequency of crashes in my sessions.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-28-2021, 10:48 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 810
Default Re: Half speed recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTGraham View Post
I hear ya. I only enable Elastic Audio on tracks in a session if I absolutely have to.
Having EA tracks is still, to this day, one of the things that increases the frequency of crashes in my sessions.
Really? I try not to use EA because it hasn't always been reliable for me, but there are times when I have to. But I haven't traced crashes to EA. I'll be more careful now.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Half speed recording... Julien Apruzzese Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 07-29-2007 08:37 AM
recording at half speed SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-01-2005 01:38 PM
Half-Speed Recording mdimmm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-15-2004 05:09 PM
Recording at half speed Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-26-2003 11:44 AM
Half Speed Recording in PT 6.0.1? TiPo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-03-2003 05:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com