Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #181  
Old 11-18-2020, 06:26 AM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Actually the dark mode is not so bad after I played with the saturation and brightness settings a bit.
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 6.02
RME, Daking, Heritage, ISA, Sytek

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 11-18-2020, 06:53 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 816
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Hulst View Post
Thats your opinion... Ive worked on 2 different rigs now in dark mode, my own rig was and still is just fine in dark mode, but the other rig was set to dark what resulted in hard to read knobs and difficult to work with. After changing some settings in the mac and on the screen, its superb.

And then again its a taste thing, ALL customers have their own opinion. Mine is: I LIKE IT.
Great bro. It's all about tolerance. Give a mix to a hundred Grammy winning mixers, and you'll get a 100 different mixes. Our fingerprints are not the same. We are not the same. So Avid should incorporate a wider range of customization for dark mode, and many more people would be happy. Saturation and Brightness should have a wider range. Maybe a contrast slider should also be added. Dark mode is terrible for my eyes (and for many others as well), but I understand that it's perfect for others. Cool, but Avid should also realize this basic fact of life and do something about it.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 11-18-2020, 07:34 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,326
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neale View Post
Nope.

That means Reaper-like tragedies with skins and things.

I’d been using “classic” since 2003 or so. Remember when there was no MIDI editor window?

Can’t please everyone. I’m pleased enough to use it, imperfect as it is. If anyone wants to hack it, clearly there are options available there, and there will likely be a small cottage industry built around a GUI that will allow you to tweak that preferences file.

Me? I’d rather they fix the issue where >100 plugins on startup causes the program to crash. Or let the FB360 plugins be optional because they break Native Instrument’s Komplete Kontrol (still hasn’t been fixed, and because the new PT reinstalls them, I had to rediscover why my Komplete Kontrol S61 didn’t work again). Or put the track input arm button on my Artist Control touch screen next to the Record, Solo, and Mute buttons as it was suggested once upon a time that it could happen and that it is something that should always have been there, but likely never will now because that device has become abandonware.

Fix things that keep people from working. You know, issues that plague pros. You want skins? Lots of other options out there. Not trying to be snobby, but based on the splash screen (too hard to center things and distribute negative space in a coherent manner?) and new logos, and according to others the dark mode, Avid’s core expertise is not graphic design, so don’t expect it of them.

A- for effort, Avid. Not a needed or requested thing, but nice try. B- for execution, because while I like it and find it useful, it would be nice to adjust the brightness of the regions like you can the track colours, others are uncomfortable with the new thing and don’t like it just because it’s different, or maybe their monitors are badly calibrated, or... you can’t please everyone.
Why not just delete the FB360 plugins from the plugin folder? Don't move them to the unused plugins folder but delete them. I've got like 200+ plugins in my plugins folder and have never had PT crash - or are you talking about having 100+ plugins in a session?


What's wrong with having skins for PT? Just because they might become available doesn't mean you HAVE to use them. Let people use what they want.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 11-18-2020, 07:36 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,326
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by WKG View Post
Actually the dark mode is not so bad after I played with the saturation and brightness settings a bit.
That's part of the trick. The other is to adjust the brightness & contrast of your monitor. Helped here a lot.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 11-18-2020, 07:38 AM
samtrino samtrino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 38
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Here's one I quickly made to better go with Apple's new design direction (fits nicely next to Logic's new icon):

https://bit.ly/3f94uRf



Quote:
Originally Posted by blemished View Post
Thanks so much for this - sooooo much better than the garish kindergarten purple version!
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1, macOS Big Sur 11.2.3 , Pro Tools 2020.12, RME FireFace UFX+
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 11-18-2020, 08:46 AM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 351
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

That hack from "rampartthemovie" on page 9 of this thread looks so much better to me - see attached
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2020-11-18 at 16.35.26.jpg (52.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT Ultimate 2021.3.1 - MacOS 10.15.6 - MacBook Pro (Late 2019) - 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 - 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 - Apogee Quartet
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 11-18-2020, 09:22 AM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 531
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

it seems some people are more concerned with how it "looks" than about how easy it is to USE


I still don't see how dark mode makes using PT easier.
quite the opp, in fact
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 11-18-2020, 09:36 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Darkmode gang stand up. Lol.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 11-18-2020, 09:51 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 236
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neale View Post
Nope.

That means Reaper-like tragedies with skins and things.

[...]

You want skins? Lots of other options out there.
No. It doesn't have to mean skins at all. See the Colors heading in Ableton Live's preferences panel. And please spare us the condescension. Most of us are professionals as well with our own particular use cases, needs and priorities.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2020-11-18 at 12.48.11.jpg (23.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 11-18-2020, 10:04 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,421
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by JingleDjango View Post
No. It doesn't have to mean skins at all. See the Colors heading in Ableton Live's preferences panel. And please spare us the condescension. Most of us are professionals as well with our own particular use cases, needs and priorities.
Thank You!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 07:46 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
How to change Pro Tools 12 to a Dark theme/skin Defier Pro Tools 12 7 03-26-2016 05:22 PM
Pro Tools 8 theme for Reaper? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-09-2010 07:51 AM
Pro tools theme song....! roijin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-27-2001 07:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com