Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2016, 04:13 PM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

A and S keys are not trimming clips when clips are selected. It works fine if the edit cursor is just flashing over a clip, but not when multiple or single clips are selected.

Anyone else experiencing this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2016, 05:47 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

If a Clip is fully selected, then there's nothing to trim.

It's working behavior is this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Voyles View Post
...It works fine if the edit cursor is just flashing over a clip...
Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2016, 05:56 PM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
If a Clip is fully selected, then there's nothing to trim.

It's working behavior is this:


Shane
Yes, I understand. To clarify, I usually select all clips and then shift + click near the end of the regions to designate where I want to trim.

In 12.5.2, you could trim all the regions at once this way. For the record, the b key still separates.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2016, 06:46 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Voyles View Post
Yes, I understand. To clarify, I usually select all clips and then shift + click near the end of the regions to designate where I want to trim.

In 12.5.2, you could trim all the regions at once this way. For the record, the b key still separates.
I misunderstood. I'll see if I can duplicate this. Hopefully a few others can chime in also.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2016, 07:29 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,413
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

Confirmed that A & S don't trim to a highlighted selection, but that's consistent with 12.5.2. I went all the way back to 12.0... same thing. A & S only work on an insertion point for me.

Can you please check 12.5.2 again, and if that's in fact different than 12.6 share more info/screenshots?

Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2016, 07:59 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,242
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Confirmed that A & S don't trim to a highlighted selection, but that's consistent with 12.5.2. I went all the way back to 12.0... same thing. A & S only work on an insertion point for me.

Can you please check 12.5.2 again, and if that's in fact different than 12.6 share more info/screenshots?

Thanks!
Delete key is for a highlited area.
A and S are insertion point to clip boundary delete.
Always has been.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2016, 08:25 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Voyles View Post
Yes, I understand. To clarify, I usually select all clips and then shift + click near the end of the regions to designate where I want to trim.
This behavior doesn't work in 10.3.8 with selections, as to your description above. Insertions across multiple tracks do work though. Ctrl+t will crop to selections. Screenshots or video would likely communicate better on this one if you can. Thanks.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2016, 08:49 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

Many of the keyboard focus commands in 12.6 on my end are not working. This includes A & S(Trim to Insertion). Need some confirmation from other users before I trouble shoot and trash prefs etc.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2016, 09:32 PM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Confirmed that A & S don't trim to a highlighted selection, but that's consistent with 12.5.2. I went all the way back to 12.0... same thing. A & S only work on an insertion point for me.

Can you please check 12.5.2 again, and if that's in fact different than 12.6 share more info/screenshots?

Thanks!
Thanks for everyone's help.

I think I've identified the problem.

Previously, I must have been using the "all" group before using the A and S keys to trim all clips. That is working as it should.

Just had a bit of confusion.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2016, 10:19 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,413
Default Re: Trim clip to cursor bug: A and S keys

Makes sense, thanks for following up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot to Edit Cursor from Clip List ... ptfigg macOS 2 03-01-2014 09:53 AM
trim tool selects too much of clip soniad Pro Tools 10 8 02-20-2014 11:37 AM
Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin? SpinningDisk Pro Tools 11 11 01-03-2014 04:03 AM
Edit question: enlarge clip to cursor @tention Pro Tools 9 4 02-10-2012 02:29 AM
moving cursor using arrow keys jordya 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-14-2010 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com