Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2014, 02:26 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

Was wondering if it was easier and sound wise better to use Clip Gain than the trim plugin? Trying out static mix if that's what everyone calls it. Where you put every fader to unity and get it close, then start adding your plugs etc.. Just wondering if there was any + and - to using either one or are they the same thing?

📀
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2014, 03:44 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

Clip Gain is between the disk drive and the first insert slot so you not eating up a slot.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2014, 03:46 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

Aaaaaaaaaaa😳
You very wise. Me learn. Thumps chest😜
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2014, 03:59 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,171
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

As far as I can tell Clip Gain is like real time, automatable AudioSuite Gain. And it's Pre Fader.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2014, 05:39 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 376
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

Correct, clip gain is pre fader- the first step in the process, so whatever you do in clip gain will effect everything else "down stream" (EQ, Dynamics, Sends etc.) also, the CG is non-destructive and can be altered at any time, Audiosuite will create a new file and rep[lace the existing original - probably not quite as flexible, depending on your situation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2014, 08:06 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMF Media View Post
Correct, clip gain is pre fader- the first step in the process, so whatever you do in clip gain will effect everything else "down stream" (EQ, Dynamics, Sends etc.) also, the CG is non-destructive and can be altered at any time, Audiosuite will create a new file and rep[lace the existing original - probably not quite as flexible, depending on your situation.

And the Trim Plugin?
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2014, 08:45 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinningDisk View Post
And the Trim Plugin?
in any of the 10 slots you like
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2014, 11:13 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,171
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

As long as you put the Trim plug-in before any other plug-ins on the track any volume automation done with the Trim plug-in will happen before the other plug-ins, ie pre fader, unlike regular volume automation.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2014, 11:51 PM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

The cool thing about clip gain is you're riding before all of your processing, so you can hit your compression and what not with a more equal level.

The bad thing about clip gain is you're riding before all of your processing, so if you're clamping down a lot with a compressor, you might not hear a ride as much as if you did it afterwards.
__________________
HD Ultimate (Native), PT2019.5, 192, 3.2 Quad MacPro 5,1, 16 Gig, Sierra
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2014, 01:25 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,217
Default Re: Is the Clip Gain the same as a Trim Plugin?

Clip Gain is pre-HEAT which I think is most important.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AudioSuite Gain/Normalize also on Clip Gain A-n-d-i macOS 0 03-13-2014 01:46 PM
Gain plugin bug? Writes distortion to start of first processed clip iain_m Pro Tools 10 18 06-03-2013 04:41 PM
Clip gain on clip groups: bug or feature? idris Post - Surround - Video 6 01-02-2013 11:48 PM
Clip Gain doesn't follow trim edits bug? JR Fountain Post - Surround - Video 0 02-17-2012 07:28 AM
Is it better to use a Trim plugin or Gain plugin? SpinningDisk Tips & Tricks 5 01-19-2010 03:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com