Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2013, 11:14 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 596
Default Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Hello all

Since 2 days my sync offset changes every time protools starts.

The same project has 5 Quarterframes and the next time 14 Quarterframes offset. It is the same project/the same session.

I am used to adjust sync from time to time because different video codecs seem to have different offsets.

I have syncheck so it is an easy task.

But this time this even if no video change is done the sync is always different. (mosly using jpeg videos using blackmagic intensity pro)

I have never seen this in 10.3.2.
I used 10.3.3 for two days and switched 2 days ago to 10.3.4
So i am not sure if it started with 10.3.3 or 10.3.4.

Did anyone have anomalies the last days?

Ale
__________________
3x PT HD Ultimate 2019.6/10 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.12.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2019.6 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2013, 03:21 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 596
Default Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Hmmm......... Nobody?
Just me?
Everybody in sync?

This morning I am switchimg from 12 to 5 Quarterframes offset

Ale
__________________
3x PT HD Ultimate 2019.6/10 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.12.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2019.6 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2013, 10:48 PM
Nate Hoffman Nate Hoffman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 252
Default Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Do you mean you have to keep changing the offset to get it to look right or the offset is mysteriously adjusted to something different every time and you have to switch it back? I've been using 10.3.3 for a while with no sync issues.
__________________
Nate Hoffman
www.blufirestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2013, 04:55 PM
dford dford is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 89
Default Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
Hello all

Since 2 days my sync offset changes every time protools starts.

The same project has 5 Quarterframes and the next time 14 Quarterframes offset. It is the same project/the same session.

I am used to adjust sync from time to time because different video codecs seem to have different offsets.

I have syncheck so it is an easy task.

But this time this even if no video change is done the sync is always different. (mosly using jpeg videos using blackmagic intensity pro)

I have never seen this in 10.3.2.
I used 10.3.3 for two days and switched 2 days ago to 10.3.4
So i am not sure if it started with 10.3.3 or 10.3.4.

Did anyone have anomalies the last days?

Ale
Try deleting the DigiSetup.OSX file...and all other prefs, plists and databases while your at it.

Dev
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2013, 12:16 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 596
Default Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Yes I have to adjust offset manually to have the sync look right.

I will delete Prefs before I start today.
I fact I did not delete them after 10.3.4 installation.


Ale
__________________
3x PT HD Ultimate 2019.6/10 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.12.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2019.6 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2013, 03:18 AM
dford dford is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 89
Default Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
Yes I have to adjust offset manually to have the sync look right.

I will delete Prefs before I start today.
I fact I did not delete them after 10.3.4 installation.


Ale
You'll have to re-set all your settings and user prefs...give yourself some extra time before your session.


Dev
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2013, 10:13 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 596
Default Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Well. How could I forget to trash pref. I have done this nearly every week on Protools 7. I started to get lazy since 10.3.... Versions because everything was working so well for me.

In short: Trashed all pref stuff. Video offset stays at 5 QFr since two days

Ale
__________________
3x PT HD Ultimate 2019.6/10 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.12.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2019.6 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2013, 03:19 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 596
Default Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Well. This Monday it is back again.

Switching from 5 to 12 offsetframes in the same project

Ale
__________________
3x PT HD Ultimate 2019.6/10 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.12.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2019.6 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2013, 07:05 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

I see a little difference this morning- maybe 1 quarterframe, but not nearly as much as you're seeing. Of course, I am on 10.3.2.

•MacPro Harpertown 2.8Ghz 8-core, 8GB RAM, 10.7.4, Pro Tools 10.3.2 with Complete Production Toolkit 2
•JBL 4300 calibrated 5.1 monitoring/Syncheck3
•Digi 003, Control|24, Blackmagic Intensity Pro, eSATA hotswap tower
•Quicktime 7.6.6, Soundminer 4, Waves 9, Lexicon, Audio Ease, Melodyne, SoundToys, Izotope RX, Pro Tools Instrument Expansion Pack...
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2013, 10:43 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: Video Sync offset changes from day to day (10.3.4 related?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
Well. This Monday it is back again.
Corrupt preferences again?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Sync Offset jumps simonchase Post - Surround - Video 21 02-21-2014 09:32 PM
Mojo Video Sync Offset TAFF Post - Surround - Video 4 04-01-2011 12:42 PM
Video sync offset samplaire Post - Surround - Video 9 11-16-2010 06:50 AM
Keeping Laybacks in Sync (delay compensation and Video sync offset) edit machine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-15-2010 12:33 PM
Video sync offset changes Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-15-2008 07:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com