Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2008, 07:08 AM
guitarman6 guitarman6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Default Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

Hello,

I have been getting frustrated with an issue I have had happen before in certain sessions. Here is what happens:

- I press space bar to begin playback and on the transport the stop button and play button blink once together and then the play button blinks a few more times and I get no playback.

I am able to close sessions this happens with and open others which playback fine so I'm able to pinpoint the specific sessions this happens in. I fear I accidentally turned on some weird sync or something that I don't know about and that is my problem. This is very frustrating though as you can imagine because if I am working on a session and this happens my work comes to an abrupt stop. Sometimes restarting my entire system solves this issue.

Has anyone had this happen to them and what did you do to fix the problem? Thanks in advance for your help and sorry if there is already a thread for this, but I couldn't find anything.

-Theo
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro 2 x 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon w 16 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 RAM running OS X 10.8.5 using Pro Tools v10.3.9 & v11.3.2 HDX w/ AVID HD I/O

Mobile: MBP Retina 2.6 HGz Intel Core i7 w 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 running macOS Sierra Version 10.12.5 and Logic (and LOVING IT!)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2008, 07:29 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

Is Dynamic Transport engaged?

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2008, 07:35 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

I had this in LE 7 and it's a buffer error less the dialogue box, hence the confusion. try adjusting the HW buffer when this happens and playback should resume.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:35 AM
guitarman6 guitarman6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

Checked H/W buffer and changed to 1024 samples. RTAS Processors running = 2, CPU Usage Limit = 90%, DAE Playback Buffer = 8. Still have the same problem when I set all that and try to playback from the session. Blinking STOP button and then 3 blinks from PLAY button (looks like its trying to sync to something but I have no idea what since I have nothing selected to sync).
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro 2 x 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon w 16 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 RAM running OS X 10.8.5 using Pro Tools v10.3.9 & v11.3.2 HDX w/ AVID HD I/O

Mobile: MBP Retina 2.6 HGz Intel Core i7 w 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 running macOS Sierra Version 10.12.5 and Logic (and LOVING IT!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:37 AM
guitarman6 guitarman6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

Dynamic transport is not engaged. I tried engaging it and it still gave me the same problem.
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro 2 x 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon w 16 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 RAM running OS X 10.8.5 using Pro Tools v10.3.9 & v11.3.2 HDX w/ AVID HD I/O

Mobile: MBP Retina 2.6 HGz Intel Core i7 w 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 running macOS Sierra Version 10.12.5 and Logic (and LOVING IT!)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:33 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

Are you using an external firewire drive?

Your not trying to playback your Pro Tools sessions from your system drive are you?
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2008, 06:48 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman6 View Post
Checked H/W buffer and changed to 1024 samples. RTAS Processors running = 2, CPU Usage Limit = 90%, DAE Playback Buffer = 8. Still have the same problem when I set all that and try to playback from the session. Blinking STOP button and then 3 blinks from PLAY button (looks like its trying to sync to something but I have no idea what since I have nothing selected to sync).
Not sure it's a fix for the transport issue, but I'd certainly reduce the DAE playback buffer to the default 2.

What about pre-roll? Have you got this engaged and, if so, what's it set to in the meter?

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2008, 01:29 PM
gdugan gdugan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utica, New York, US
Posts: 344
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

Sounds like it might be pre-roll and/or metronome count-off. See "Click Options" and "Enabling Click" on p. 323-324 of the PT Reference Guide.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2008, 09:39 PM
Earthling Earthling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 58
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

I had the exact problem you are describing, consistently occuring... but only when using the Melodyne plug-in for some reason. I tried higher HW buffer settings, even the highest 1024 & it made no difference. Once I disabled one of the RTAS CPU processors to "1", the problem completely went away. Had 12 seperate instances of Melodynes inserted on 12 seperate audio tracks, w/HW buffer set to 64 & everything ran perfectly fine.

For me, this weird problem never occurred at all before LE 7.4.2. So is it the 3rd party plug, or 7.4.2? None of my up to date RTAS plugs cause this though, only Melodyne (1.0.3). So when I'm doing a vox tracking & tuning session, for now I just disable the 2nd processor. The Digi pdf manual does mention something about this ( I think it's on page 38 ), but it's very brief & sort of vague information.

But I did have the exact same STOP/PLAY blinking transport buttons issue.

G5 Dual Core 2.0Ghz
4GB Ram
OSX 10.5.4
002R
PT LE 7.4.2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2008, 05:41 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 429
Default Re: Blinking STOP/PLAY transport buttons PLAYBACK ISSUE

I have this exact same issue very occasionally.

I asked this very question to the forums, and got some great reponses about me accidentally enabling certain modes, which I could have done so just closed pro-tools and re-opened again and all was well.

After that is happened a few more times, and I've walked through what I had done/was doing and looked at the screen based on the advice given to me, and found that none of the resposes actuall matched my issue.

This happens on a random and non-frequent case, but I have exactly the same issue as the original poster, and closing pro-tools and re-opening it fixes it.

I'm yet to find a fix, but as this happens rarely it's not a big deal for me, 30 seconds to restart pro-tools isn't the end of the world
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C24 all transport buttons led on (play,FF,Rew,,Stop and talk back Ze Fortes ICON & C|24 2 09-26-2012 01:25 PM
Playback issue - Solid Stop/Flashing Play systemcell macOS 5 08-10-2011 02:41 AM
When press play the stop key lite and play key blinking Sam Yin Tips & Tricks 6 12-05-2009 09:26 PM
Play and Stop Buttons both flashing - track window froze Matt Darcy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-08-2008 02:13 PM
Transport Play Lit, but no playback slimfass27 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-17-2005 05:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com