Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-06-2003, 08:38 AM

Default Setting fader levels for maximum mixing headroom

Sorry for all these noob questions... I am very new to this. I am working on my first home recordings now, and I have come across a few things when mixing that I wasn't able to verify in the manual...

When recording, the positions of the faders have no bearing on the input level, right?

When I am mixing, some of my tracks sometimes seem kind of weak, even with the fader turned all the way up. I end up having to put a compressor on them and crank up the gain to get a respectable volume. Now mind you, when recording, I set my preamp input levels so that the the signal is just below clipping, so I know I have a strong signal coming in.

So here are my questions...

1. When you record something, do you have to pull all of the faders in the mix window all the way down in order to have enough head room when mixing, or does that not matter? If I record something with faders set high, then pull them back down before playback/mixing, is it any different from recording with the faders pulled all the way back before I record?

2. Is there a way to change the resolution of a fader so that when I do move a fader up, I get more gain in a shorter movement? More overall gain headroom?

3. And finally, Is the master fader supposed to be set at "unity" when mixing?

Thanks for your help!

Old 10-06-2003, 09:34 AM

Default Re: Setting fader levels for maximum mixing headro

Quote:
When recording, the positions of the faders have no bearing on the input level, right?
right.

Quote: