Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2011, 10:56 AM
rmoat rmoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Question Mbox 2 Mini limitations. Upgrade?

The monitoring on the Mbox 2 Mini still bothers me. According to AVID here are the instructions when recording a vocal track in Pro Tools:

When recording into Pro Tools with Mbox.
1) Mute the record enabled audio track in Pro Tools. When recording with the MBox you are actually monitoring the audio signal going to MBox. If the record enabled audio track is not muted, you will also be monitoring the signal going out of Pro Tools back to MBox. This will be heard as a doubling effect because you are hearing both the input and the latent output at the same time.
2) Adjust the "Mix" knob on MBox to prevent any echo or latency sound.
3) If you are usng and Mbox 2 Mini you can skip this test there is no Mono button and one is not required.

Press the "Mono" button on MBox. This will prevent the input signal from sounding hard panned left or right when adjusting the Mix knob on MBox. The "Mono" knob does not affect the mix playing out of Pro Tools, just the incoming signal.

I've been looking for information on this, and people say that on the cheaper Pro Tools hardware, you'll hear the signal twice unless you use some sort of Pro Tools HD system.
I also get from this, they're telling you to MUTE the vocal track when recording, which means you won't hear what is being recorded. Perhaps I've always done it wrong, but I like hearing what is being recorded at the same time.

The last part talks about a "Mono" button. If I had an Mbox Pro with the mono mute button, would this solve this problem with the Mbox 2 Mini? So, I guess what I am asking, should I upgrade to the Mbox Pro in order to get rid of this "double signal"?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2011, 11:06 AM
anothercolour anothercolour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 242
Default Re: Mbox 2 Mini limitations. Upgrade?

Follow the Avid instructions. They are correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2011, 11:12 AM
rmoat rmoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default Re: Mbox 2 Mini limitations. Upgrade?

So, am I doing something wrong? If you mute the record enabled audio track, you're not going to hear the vocals coming through the microphone, right? Is that how it's supposed to be done? And then after recording, then listening to the recorded track?

I'm just not used to recording vocals when I can't hear what it sounds like (while wearing headphones).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2011, 11:39 AM
anothercolour anothercolour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 242
Default Re: Mbox 2 Mini limitations. Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmoat View Post
When recording with the MBox you are actually monitoring the audio signal going to MBox.
You monitor the audio going to the MBox, not coming back from Pro Tools.
You will be hearing your vocal performance before it even reaches Pro Tools because you will be listening to the MBox input.

Follow the instructions exactly as written, and you should be good to go.
I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2011, 08:56 PM
rmoat rmoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default Re: Mbox 2 Mini limitations. Upgrade?

Thanks anothercolour for the reply! I think my issue is the fact that the MBOX 2 MINI doesn't have the "Mono Mute" button. If I just mute the record enabled track, I can't monitor through my headphones. I want to be able to hear what is being sung through the microphone. If I mute the track, it prevents me from being able to hear what is coming through the microphone.

I think the "Mono Mute" on the newer models or the MBOX 2 model is the answer to this.

This post describes the exact problem I am having:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=210336
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2011, 07:12 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,219
Default Re: Mbox 2 Mini limitations. Upgrade?

Never mind the MONO button(or the lack of one). The MUTE you need to hit is the MUTE button on the recording track itself. By muting the track, you won't hear the recorded sound slightly later than the original sound. You hear the original sound by adjusting the MIX knob on the Mbox. While that makes punch-ins tough, the way to do fixes is to learn about the playlist feature and track comping. Or you can try setting the buffer to the 128 setting(or 64 if its available) and leave the MIX knob all the way to the PLAYBACK side. Now you would not mute the recording track and you would hear sound only from PT. Only you can decide if the slight delay is okay or not.(where you record, say 3 tracks of vocal, and then make a COMPosit track out of the 3 takes). There are some good tutorial videos available between AvidTV and youtube.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2011, 08:52 AM
rmoat rmoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Smile Re: Mbox 2 Mini limitations. Upgrade?

Thank you albee1952 and anothercolour! Actually before reading your last post albee1952, I realized that having a mono button wouldn't solve it either. The link to the thread I posted was only for stereo recording, and I am not doing that either.

I was going to say I'll work through it, because it seems more of a lack of understanding of muting the track, the mix knob, and the latency settings. Right now I think it is at 512 samples.

albee1952, thank you! That makes a lot of sense. I think that sets me in the right direction. Much appreciation to both the responses here. I'll also see if I can find some good tutorial videos.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Mbox 3 Mini D/A for cheap Dopamine FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 7 12-10-2013 07:13 AM
Mbox Mini PT 9 upgrade to 11 matt1801 Pro Tools 11 6 05-15-2013 07:57 AM
Looking to upgrade from mbox mini soundmind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-05-2011 01:34 PM
looking to upgrade from mbox mini tony.tipton Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 11-28-2010 07:57 PM
Mbox 2 Mini firmware upgrade (v1.40 -> v1.38) laserbeam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-13-2007 01:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com