Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2017, 07:13 AM
luke88 luke88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 15
Default -9171 Errors

I've read through all the old threads on this, but a lot seem "out of date" as they were mostly on PT11 or older, and older MAC OS'.

To the point- anyone have current/applicable workarounds/solutions to this problem?

I am running:

-2013 iMac with 32GB Ram
-PT 12.7 HD (with an HDX Card in a Sonnet Chassis)
-AVID HD i/o 16x16
-AVID HD i/0 (digital, for my Hear Back system)
-UAD Quad Satellite and Octo Satellite (both TBolt)
-External SATA drives in an OWC Drive Dock (both 7200rpms)
-Plugs from, UAD, FFilt L, Slate VTM,VBC, Sound Radix Auto Align and Mutomatic, NI Komplete 11 Bundle, Output Sound Exhale, Soundtoys 5 Bundle, Valhalla Room/Vintage Verb

Got this rig in January 2017. For a few months all was totally kosher, it was amazing. Then, a couple months ago I started getting the dreaded -9171. It may or may not have been around the time I bought a couple of the plugs mentioned above. I'm not naming them because I don't know for sure if they are causing the issues.

When I have buffer at 512 or 256 makes no diff. When Disk Cache is set to 10gb I get the -9171. When I lower the disk cache, the -9171 goes away, but then I get "Pro Tools is running low on memory" error message.

Here's what I've done so far to diagnose:

-run Disk Utility on all drives. All are kosher.
-Went through all the Protools "configuring your MAC" recommends
-Trashed Prefs (yes, I downloaded the application mentioned in previous thrds)
-Run "problem" session, and others, off of internal SSD to check if it was drive issue, still got -9171
-Removed all 3rd party plugs from Plugins folder, and it seemed to work okay. Hard to tell as the -9171 is intermittent. Sometimes it doesn't happen for 5 minutes and then sometimes it happens three times in a 2 minute period.
-Started adding plugs back in to Plugins folder per manufacturer. UAD seemed okay. Soundtoys seemed okay. (i was quitting and restarting PT every time in between obviously). Added in SLATE and got a -9171. Added in NI and took out SLATE- got -9171.
-That's where I'm at currently.

Worked on this for 4 hours last night as I finally decided that the -9171 problem was not going to go away on it's own, and although I am mostly composing by myself I can deal with it. Yesterday though, I had a client and it was a bit embarrasing.

Any and all ideas welcome. Please keep the "working fine here's" to yourself if you would be so kind. :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2017, 10:18 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 374
Default Re: -9171 Errors

I have noticed on my PC that if I record with the disk cache other than default I get these errors at the time the buffer hits the value in the disk cache setting, (eg 3GB).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / TB3
PT12.8.1 HDX1 / Eucon 3.6 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / DIGIGRID DLS IO mode / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &
8 Thunderbolt

Late 2013 MacBook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2017, 04:50 PM
luke88 luke88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 15
Default Re: -9171 Errors

UPDATE:

If anyone was interested, I've been working on my rig for the last 8 hrs straight without a single -9171 error. The only plugin NOT in my plugs folder (spent hours last night pulling em out one at a time) is Slate VBC and VTM.

Fingers crossed.

Good luck to you all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9171 and -9172 errors Pro Tools 11 | HD ArKay99 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 117 01-03-2017 10:11 PM
PT12.6HD -9171 errors Boe Larsen Pro Tools 12 Discussion 13 12-05-2016 09:48 AM
I solved my 9171 errors fifty8th1 Pro Tools 12 Discussion 5 05-17-2016 04:17 PM
Anyone having -9171/-9172 errors on 12? rinky Pro Tools 12 Discussion 2 03-25-2015 10:32 AM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com