Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2017, 03:15 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,553
Default SSD4 OH and Room issue?

For all my projects I use SSD4. I have all the expansion packs which IMO sound very good. For a long while now I've suffered the same issue.

I get the drummer to play the part on the electric kit using SSD4, when I'm happy with the midi I record each drum to its own separate audio track this is where my issues start I find that the OH and Room mics always come up very weak on the track so I use clip gain to increase the wave form. This then only gives me a little travel on the channels slider before the Room/OH just swamp the mix. I've tried compression, EQ, multiband compression but nothing helps me to get the OH/Room mics to sit right in the mix so that the drums sound glued together and not like a cymbal swamped mix. The room mics either sound like they are doing nothing to the mix I then turn them up maybe 2-3 db and they are just way to present and over powering to the drum sound.

Does any body else have this issue and is it just an SSD4 sample problem.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 7, Windows 7 64 Bit, I7 960, Supermicro X8SAX, NVIDIA GeForce GT 610, 12GB Ram, Magma P7R464, Kingston SSD, 2 X WD Caviar Black, Dual Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2017, 07:33 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,745
Default Re: SSD4 OH and Room issue?

I've never used SSD4, but did lots of drums with a Roland kit and Superior Drummer, EZdrummer and Addictive Drums. One thing I found myself doing in almost every case was going into the "Bleed" settings and pulling the snare bleed in the overheads way down(if not, I would always get too much snare with the overheads where they belonged). My other preference is to NOT use the room sound from the plugin and substitute my own "room"(a reverb plugin). What this does for me is; it makes the drums sound different than the other 1000 people using the same plugin If this doesn't help, maybe it will spark some ideas that will

BTW, if you put up a real hi-hat and ride cymbal(with 2 mics) it gets better. If you add all real cymbals and decent overhead mics, it gets better still(something about the real brass and mics can add a certain "air" that doesn't quite happen when its all in the box)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2017, 07:45 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,029
Default Re: SSD4 OH and Room issue?

Yeah, there are bleed settings for everything in SSD4. Make sure you're feeding the levels you want into them from each drum/cymbal before you print. There is also a "mono" mic that receives bleed from all tracks by default; I don't use a lot of this mono mic personally, but it might bring more cohesion to your central channel if that's what you're looking for. Other than that, I use the OHs and Rooms from SSD4 all the time; it just depends on what sound you're going for (I use SSD4 mainly for rock production demos, so I'm kind of a native son there...) What kind of music are you doing? What sample packs do you own?

Last edited by AlexLakis; 09-16-2017 at 08:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2017, 11:36 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: SSD4 OH and Room issue?

I've messed with the bleed setting a few times but this has made no difference. It mostly happens when the drummer is using open hi hat or riding on the crash cymbals. It just sounds very washy no definition to the cymbals, if you no what I mean.

I own all the sample packs @AlexLakis and it's always the cymbals that give me issues. Mostly I record rock/metal and sometimes indie


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 7, Windows 7 64 Bit, I7 960, Supermicro X8SAX, NVIDIA GeForce GT 610, 12GB Ram, Magma P7R464, Kingston SSD, 2 X WD Caviar Black, Dual Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2017, 02:36 AM
EdwardWilliam EdwardWilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Santa Fe/Las Vegas, NM USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: SSD4 OH and Room issue?

Just from memory, I recall that the SSD mixer has auxes on each individual channel for OH and Room. If your hat is too hot, send less of it from the hat channel to the OH or Room.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Edward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CM 401 Control Room Output issue - Help needed! Patzag1 System 5 6 05-17-2016 12:29 PM
SSD4 DJKeys Pro Tools 12 Discussion 0 12-18-2015 08:35 PM
Slate SSD4 auth issue mspin AAX Plug-ins 3 03-29-2015 07:49 AM
SSD4 issue with midi Raoul23 RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 6 08-13-2014 02:51 PM
SSD4 for $99 YYR123 The Drum Room 3 08-06-2014 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com