Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2017, 07:08 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 541
Default Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

Today I updated from 12.4 to 12.7 and PT no longer recognizes my Blue D-Command in the Ethernet controller dialog.

Is anyone else successfully using this combination?

To make matters murkier, I am also running on the unsupported OS 10.8.5 which had no issues running installing and running 12.7 The only problem I've seen is with the D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2017, 09:59 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,371
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

Possible?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=ethernet+connec...running+10.8.5
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2017, 10:16 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 541
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

Thanks for the suggestion. The D-Command is working perfectly in PT10.3.8 (I run a dual install) and when I revert from PT 12.7.1 back to PT 12.4, it is once again recognized. All on OS 10.8.5, so I'm certain it's not an Ethernet issue with the OS itself.

FWIW, the D-Command is connected directly to my Mac Pro and not via a hub or router.

Oddly, I can't find any compatibility documents that mention the ICON series at all. In fact, this document lists everything under the sun as supported, not supported or incompatible, but unless I'm completely blind, the ICON controllers are not even mentioned:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nd-Peripherals

Your sig lists PT 12.5 - have you tried running 12.7 with your D-Command yet?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2017, 11:25 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,371
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

No I actually haven't made the jump myself to 12.7.

I loved 10.8.5 but I found 10.10.5 was a good place to be as well .

You might try installing a partition with 10.10.5 just for fun....

I am working on another clone of my Win10 drive and going to try installing 12.7.1 really soon.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2017, 12:24 AM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 541
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

Unfortunately I need to retain my PT10HD TDM system as a dual install with PT12HD (RME hardware) and OS 10.8.5 is the last version that allows this, so no more OS updates for me I'm afraid...

I'll be interested in how your D-Command fares with PT 12.7 on Win10...if you get a chance, please report back, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2017, 12:27 AM
PTPerson PTPerson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Down Under
Posts: 537
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

You haven't changed ethernet ports on your mac? if so you need to change it when declaring the controller.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2017, 03:07 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 931
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

Hi,

PT12.7.1 and MacOS 10.12.4 and no problems with my Blue D-Command.

My guess is that running an unsupported config is the core of your problem. The last version of PT compatible with MacOS 10.8.5 was 12.4. PT12.7 required 10.9.5 and above. My advise would be to stick with a supported configuration.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.12.6, PT2018.10, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.13.6, PT2018.10, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14, PT2018.10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2017, 10:16 AM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 541
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by PTPerson View Post
You haven't changed ethernet ports on your mac? if so you need to change it when declaring the controller.
No change. In fact, when I launch PT 10.3.8 it's business as usual in port 1, so definitely not a patching issue. Good suggestion though, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2017, 10:24 AM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 541
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
Hi,

PT12.7.1 and MacOS 10.12.4 and no problems with my Blue D-Command.

My guess is that running an unsupported config is the core of your problem. The last version of PT compatible with MacOS 10.8.5 was 12.4. PT12.7 required 10.9.5 and above. My advise would be to stick with a supported configuration.
I'm sure that you are correct and that's what i will do.

Given the last period of development from Apple and Avid, it appears that they simply don't want my money any more....so...I just stepped off the Avid Support Train at the end of March and have committed to locking down my system at that last reliable stop for a PT10/12 dual install which as it turns out is PT12.4 on OS 10.8.5

I have in fact, doubled down on this strategy and just bought a spare 6 core, 3.3 gHz Mac Pro 5.1 just in case my current rig smokes. I might also buy another pair of Accel cards as a backup! Tracking in TDM and mixing in PT12 absolutely rocks and I think I will stay here for a very, very long time!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2017, 10:25 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,425
Default Re: Blue D-Command not recognized by PT 12.7

Have you tried to reset the console? I doubt it'll help, but...
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox2 blue power light blinking-not recognized Verse309 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-11-2014 05:20 PM
Please help! My Command 8 is not recognized by my Mac Pro. thunderball78 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 11-27-2011 10:33 PM
Help! D-Command not recognized ishur ICON & C|24 8 10-13-2008 07:49 PM
Command 8 not recognized by PT7.2 intermittent lampmusic ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 09-04-2006 08:45 PM
Command 8 not being recognized RobinShort ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 07-01-2004 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com