Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-27-2005, 12:41 AM

Default Convert Midi to Audio

Hi, I'm new to Protools so this maybe a dumb question. Using M Box 6.7, I would like to convert a recorded Midi passage to audio.How is this done? Thank you
Old 09-27-2005, 05:58 AM

Default Re: Convert Midi to Audio

We need more information from you; what are you using as as MIDI sound module?
Do you even have a MIDI sound module?

MIDI data is just instructions for the computer to play music; kind of like electronic sheet music. The MIDI data is the sheet music, the computer is the performer, and the performer needs an instrument to play; a MIDI sound module.

You don't really need to "record" the audio output, because it will play back in time with the Protools session once it is imported, but you can. What you would do is to route the audio output from the MIDI sound module to an audio track.

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Old 09-27-2005, 11:53 PM

I'm sorry for the lack of info. I am using my midi keyboard to play NI B4 RTAS. It shows up and plays in Midi but I would like to convert it to a audio track,Thank;s
Old 09-28-2005, 01:50 AM