Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-19-2002, 10:10 AM

Default Monitoring Drums through Headphones

I have a problem. So I've been scanning the DUC for nearly 4 months building my studio. Got the mics I want, drums are tuned the way I want them, and my digi001 and digimax LT are ready for some serious tracking. Problem is this, I need to experiment with mic placement on the drums to find the right sound, but the only way I can test mic placements is to place, record the drums, and play back. This sucks for me because I am doing it myself and need to run back and forth between my desk and set, which in this tight space is basically a pain.

So my question is, I know there are isolation headphones, but has anyone used them to sit at a drumset and monitor different mic placements? Do they block out the actual drum sounds well enough to hear how they will sound through the mic/headphones/mix? Thanks very much. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Old 12-19-2002, 10:16 AM

Default Re: Monitoring Drums through Headphones

Ask and you shall receive. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

I use them myself - also works good for finding mic placement on loud geetar amps.
Old 12-19-2002, 10:21 AM

I too am a one man show, recording and performing at the same time. I find it really hard, especially recording drums. My DAW is on one side of the room, and my drums are at the other. It seens impossible but does anyonehave any ideas how I can record drums and play them too?
Old 12-19-2002, 10:26 AM